Programme: BThHons (Religion Studies)

Kindly take note of the disclaimer regarding qualifications and degree names.
Code Faculty Department
06246082 Faculty of Theology and Religion Department: Biblical and Religious Studies
Credits Duration NQF level
Minimum duration of study: 1 year Total credits: 120 NQF level:  08

Programme information

Also refer to General Academic Regulations G16-G29.

The purpose of this programme is to provide qualifying students the opportunity to obtain specialised knowledge, skills and applied competence on a first postgraduate level in a particular field or fields of Theology.

The BThHons is conferred on a student if the student has complied with the following minimum period of study: One academic year after the qualification has been obtained by virtue of which admission to the study has been granted.

Admission requirements

  1. BTh (or equivalent) degree or Diploma in Theology (completed at UP) or relevant diploma in Theology (not completed at UP) and one-year programme with the Centre for Contextual Ministry with a 65% weighted average
  2. A weighted average of at least 65% at final-year level
  3. Hebrew passed at first-year level of the bachelor’s degree – for the BThHons (Old Testament Studies)
  4. Greek passed at first-year level of the bachelor’s degree – for the BThHons (New Testament Studies)
  5. Religion Studies passed at final-year level of the bachelor’s degree – for the BThHons (Religion Studies)

Examinations and pass requirements

Examination regulations applicable to honours degrees in the faculty
A student may not sit for an examination for the honours degree more than twice in the same module, subject to exceptions approved by the Dean, on the recommendation of the relevant head of department. A percentage mark is given provided that the pass mark is at least 50%.

Pass with distinction

The degree is conferred with distinction on a student who obtains a weighted average (GPA) of 75% (not rounded) in all the prescribed modules, provided not one of the modules had been failed previously and that the programme was completed within the minimum prescribed period.

Minimum credits: 120

The six electives consist of the following choices:

  • Select any two modules for 30 credits between BYB 711; BYB 712; BYB 713 and BYB 714; as well as
  • Select any two modules for 30 credits between BYB 721, BYB 722, BYB 723, BYB 724 as well as;
  • Select any two modules for 30 credits between BYB 731; BYB 732; BYB 733, BYB 734


Core modules

Elective modules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences