Procedures For MSc Protocol Submissions

Faculty Of Health Sciences, School Of Medicine, Procedures For MSc Protocol Submissions

The following steps must be followed in order to submit an MSc Protocol to the MSc committee:

 

PROCEDURES: STUDENT AND SUPERVISOR

  1. MSc registration should take place before protocol submission.
  2. All students should have completed TNM800.
  3. A protocol will not be accepted if the research has been completed, or have been initiated. 
  4. Visit a faculty statistician to discuss your research and obtain a letter stating that the statistical aspect of your protocol is satisfactory.
  5. The protocol should be prepared by the student, in consultation with the supervisor.
  6. The student’s CV should be included.

 

PROCEDURES: SUPERVISOR

  1. MSc form: Complete the MSc form electronically, and obtain the signature of the Head of Department.
  2. Supervisor and/or co-supervisor CVs: Include the supervisor and co-supervisor (if applicable) CVs.
  3. Final document submission: 
    1. Please submit an electronic copy via e-mail of all documentation to [email protected]. Please ensure that the documents are signed.
    2. This include the following documents:
      • MSc form
      • Protocol
      • Statistician letter
      • CV of student, supervisor and co-supervisor (if applicable)
      • Declaration that research will be undertaken by the student.
      • Completed and signed Memorandum of Agreement
      • Letter from Head of Department indicating that adequate funding is available
      • Checklist (1st Submission)
    3. MSc Submission Flow Diagram
  4. The supervisor must ensure that, before commencing with research, the relevant committee approvals have been obtained (MSc and Ethics).  Submission to the Ethics Committee should take place once MSc Committee approval has been obtained.  The ethics approval letter should be in the student’s name, and two paper and one electronic copy submitted to the committee.
  5. Nomination of examiners: B
  6. Both internal (not the co-supervisor) and external examiners can be nominated 6 months prior to submission of the dissertation.  Complete a new MSc form indicating the nominated examiners, with appropriate contact details.  Include all examiners CVs to the request.  Submit an electronic copy to Franco Meintjes for approval by the committee. NB the student should not know who the examiners are.

 

MEETING DATES AND PROCEDURES:

  • The MSc Committee meets every first Wednesday of each month except January. All documentation needs to be submitted to [email protected] two weeks prior to the meeting. 
  • Meetings will be held in person in the YellowWood boardroom, Dean's complex, HW Snyman building. 
  • The supervisor and student must be present.                                                                            

 

We kindly request that you take your time to formulate a well-written protocol and submit timeously to a meeting. A large number of protocols are received each year for the last meeting. Most of these are rushed and of poor quality. For the last meeting, we may defer protocols to the next year should they be of especially poor quality and/or we receive too many protocols to review

MSc Committee Meeting
Closing Date for Submissions  Meeting Date
Wednesday, January 24 2024 Wednesday, February 7, 2024
Wednesday, February 21, 2024 Wednesday, March 6, 2024
Wednesday, March 20, 2024 Wednesday, April 10, 2024
Wednesday, April 24, 2024 Wednesday, May 8, 2024
Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Wednesday, June 5, 2024
Wednesday, June 19, 2024 Wednesday, July 3, 2024
Wednesday, July 24, 2024 Wednesday, August 7, 2024
Wednesday, August 21, 2024 Wednesday, September 4, 2024
Wednesday, September 18, 2024 Wednesday, October 2, 2024
Wednesday, October 23, 2024 Wednesday, November 6, 2024
Wednesday, November 20, 2024 Wednesday, December 4, 2024
 

 

  

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences