Join us in celebrating the achievements of our latest PhD graduates

Posted on April 26, 2023

The enhancement of innovative and relevant research and high-quality postgraduate training remains an integral part of the Faculty’s strategic plan. Among other things, an increase in doctoral enrolments and in doctoral and master’s graduates all contribute to the University of Pretoria’s research-intensive identity.
The Faculty of Veterinary Science is therefore proud of its latest 12 successful PhD graduates who, on Thursday 20 April, were awarded their doctoral degrees at the autumn graduation ceremony of the University of Pretoria (UP).
This year was the second time since the COVID-19 pandemic that the Faculty was able to again physically host its annual Doctoral Celebration ceremony. This event has become a tradition since 2014 and always takes place the day before graduation day.
Not all 12 PhD graduates were able to attend the event and we are proud to showcase our successful candidates by means of our Doctoral Celebrations BOOKLET for April 2023 which you can view by clicking here:
No less than 36 postgraduate qualifications were conferred during the in-person graduation ceremony which included the 12 PhD degrees, 22 Master's degrees and two BVSc (Hons.) degrees.
Said Prof Marinda Oosthuizen, Deputy Dean: Research and Postgraduate Studies in the Faculty: “We know that our postgraduate students work extremely hard and sometimes under quite difficult circumstances. We are therefore very proud of our new PhD graduates and those graduates who obtained their master’s and honours degrees. Congratulations to all of them. We wish them just the best with their future endeavours.”
Nine of the PhD candidates who were able to attend the doctoral celebration event together with the Dean of the Faculty, Prof Vinny Naidoo (front, middle) and some of their supervisors, co-supervisors and members of Faculty management. In the middle from left to right are Prof Lyndy McGaw, Prof Edward (Ned) Snelling, Prof Jan Myburgh, Prof Chris Marufu, Prof Marinda Oosthuizen (Deputy Dean: Research and Postgraduate Studies) and Prof Jannie Crafford. At the back from left to right are Prof Dietmar Holm (Deputy Dean: Teaching and Learning), Prof Nenene Qekwana (HOD: Paraclinical Sciences), Prof Tshepo Matjila (HOD: Veterinary Tropical Diseases), Prof Amelia Goddard (HOD: Companion Animal Clinical Studies), Prof Leith Meyer (Director: Centre for Veterinary Wildlife Research) and Dr Rebone Moerane (HOD: Production Animal Studies). 
- Author CvB

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences