NAS researchers lead the way in 2019 NSTF finalists’ list

Posted on June 13, 2019

Five of the eight researchers at the University of Pretoria that made it to the finals of the National Science and Technology Foundation (NSTF) 2018/2019 Awards hail from the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences (NAS). They are Prof Robin Crewe (finalist in two categories), Prof Serena Coetzee, Prof André Ganswindt, Prof Eshchar Mizrachi and Prof Nico de Bruyn.

The finalists have been selected from 21 of UP’s researchers, who were nominated for 22 awards this year. The NSTF Awards event is the flagship project of the National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF), in partnership with global mining company South32.

The awards honour and celebrate outstanding contributions to science, engineering and technology (SET), and innovation. Their aim is to recognise professional, innovative research that helps to provide solutions to the challenges of South Africa’s socio-economic growth in a sustainable manner in order to improve people’s lives. The theme for 2019 is in keeping with the United Nations’ declaration of this year as the International Year of the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements.

The NSTF Special Annual Theme Award will recognise a contribution made with regard to materials for inclusive economic development. Professor Stephanie Burton, Vice-Principal of Research and Postgraduate Education at UP, said: “The University of Pretoria is extremely proud of the research done by its academics and the deep impact that their research has on changing people’s lives and transforming society.”

The NAS 2019 finalists in the various categories are:

Contribution over a lifetime as well as Contribution through the management and related SET activities
Prof Robin Crewe, Extra-ordinary Professor in Department of Zoology / Senior Research Fellow: Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship

Prof Robin Crewe



TW Kambule – NSTF Awards: Researchers
Prof Serena Coetzee, Professor and Head of the Department of Geography, Geo-informatics and Meteorology and Director: Centre for Geo-Information Science

Prof Serena Coetzee


TW Kambule – NSTF Awards: Researchers
Prof André Ganswindt, Professor and Director: Mammal Research Institute in the Department of Zoology and Entomology

Prof André Ganswindt


TW Kambule – NSTF Awards: Emerging Researchers
Prof Eshchar Mizrachi, Associate Professor in the Department of Biochemistry, Genetics and Microbiology and Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute


Prof Eschar Mizrachi


Corporate organisations
Marion Island Marine Mammal Programme, led by team leader Prof Nico de Bruyn: Associate Professor at the Department of Zoology and Entomology

Prof Nico de Bruyn

The winners will be announced at the NSTF Awards function to be held on 27 June 2019.

- Author NAS
Published by Martie Meyer

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2019. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share