Institutes, Centres and Units

EBIT’s research strategy encourages interdisciplinary research and innovation that has the potential to address challenges locally, regionally and across the globe.


Industry Chairs

Research Entities

SARChl Chairs

Absa Chair in Data Science

AEL Mining Service Chair in Innovative Rock- breaking Technology

Anglo-American Chair in Pyrometallurgy

Chair in Maintenance Engineering

Chair in Nuclear Safety and Security

Eskom Chair in Plant Asset Management

Exxaro Chair in Energy Efficiency

Glencore Chair in Pyrometallurgical Modelling

Harmony Chair in Rock Engineering and Numerical Modelling

Rand Water Chair in Civil Engineering

Rand Water Chair in Mechanical Engineering

Sedibeng Water Chair in Water Utilisation Engineering

Sentech Chair in Broadband Wireless Multimedia Communication

South African Council of Shopping Centres Chair

Transnet Freight Rail Chair in Railway Engineering

Weir Minerals and Exxaro Chair in Maintenance Engineering

MultiChoice Chair of Machine Learning

York Timbers Chair



African Centre of Excellence in Information Ethics

Carl and Emily Fuchs Institute for Micro-electronics

Centre for Asset Integrity Management

Centre for Connected Intelligence

Centre for Electromagnetism

Centre for New Energy Systems

Centre for Nuclear Safety and Security

Centre for Pyrometallurgy

Centre for Transport Development

Chair for Fluoromaterials Science and Process Integration

Industrial Metals and Minerals Research Institute (IMMRI)

SAIW Centre for Welding Excellence

Institute for Big Data and Data Science

Institute for Technological Innovation

Mining Resilience Research Centre


The south African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChl) was established by the Department of Science and Technology and the National Research and innovation at South Africa public universities through long-term investment. EBIT currently holds two SARChl chairs:

SARChI Chair in Advanced Sensor Networks

SARChI Chair in Artificial Intelligence

- Author Emly Mathe

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences