School for the Built Environment

 The School for the Built Environment offers the entire spectrum of programmes in the built environment (degrees in architecture, quantity surveying, construction management, real estate and town and regional planning).

The Department of Architecture presents programmes in the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture and interior architecture. Graduates of the professional programmes are able to register with the relevant professional or statutory bodies, namely the South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP), the South African Institute of the Interior Design Professions (IID) and the South African Council for the Landscape Architectural Profession (SACLAP). The Department also offers research studies on honours, master’s and doctoral degree levels. The programme in landscape architecture is the only undergraduate degree of its kind offered at a university in South Africa.

The BSc (Quantity Surveying), BScHons (Quantity Surveying), BSc (Construction Management), BScHons (Construction Management), BSc (Real Estate), BScHons (Real Estate) and MSc (Real Estate) programmes are accredited at various national and international Professional Councils. Graduates who have obtained a BScHons (Quantity Surveying) may, after submitting proof of prescribed professional practical experience and successful completion of an assessment of professional competence, register with the South African Council for the Quantity Surveying Profession.

An honours degree in Real Estate can lead to registration as a professional Property Valuer. The property sector forms an appreciable part of the South African economy – in fact, Real Estate comprises about 40% to 50% of the world’s total assets.

Graduates with a Bachelor of Town and Regional Planning can register as professional Town and Regional Planners with the South African Council for Town and Regional Planners, which is an official body established in terms of an act of Parliament. The degree is internationally recognised.


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences