Join us in celebrating the achievements of our latest PhD graduates

Posted on September 24, 2021

Research and postgraduate education are central to the strategic plan of the University of Pretoria and its long-term vision of becoming a leading research-intensive university. The enhancement of innovative and relevant research, as well as high-quality postgraduate training, therefore also remains an integral part of the Faculty’s strategic plan.

Among other things, an increase in doctoral enrolments and in doctoral and master’s graduates all contribute to the University’s research-intensive identity.  

The Faculty of Veterinary Science has reason to be proud after another six successful new PhD graduates were recently awarded their doctoral degrees at the virtual Spring graduation ceremony of the University of Pretoria. Earlier this year during the online Autumn graduation ceremony, seven doctoral degrees were also awarded which amounts to a total number of 34 PhD graduates in the 2020/21 period.  

As in 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic prevented the Faculty from physically hosting its annual Doctoral Celebration ceremony this year. This event has become a tradition since 2014 to take place before graduation day.

However, we are proud to showcase our successful candidates by means of our Doctoral Celebration booklet for September 2021 which you can view by clicking here

The newly graduated doctors represented four respective Departments, namely two from the Department of Paraclinical Sciences, one from the Department of Production Animal Studies, one from the Department of Anatomy and Physiology and two from the Department of Veterinary Tropical Diseases.  

Commenting on the achievements, Prof Marinda Oosthuizen, Deputy Dean: Research and Postgraduate Studies in the Faculty said: “Over the last 18 months our researchers and postgraduate students had to face unprecedented challenges and delays due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Faculty is therefore extremely proud of our new PhD graduates and we are congratulating all our new graduates, including those who obtained their Master’s degrees.”

No less than 21 postgraduate qualifications were conferred during the online ceremony which included the six PhD degrees and 15 Master's degrees. The candidates who obtained their PhD’s (with the titles of their theses in brackets) are:

Sarah Jane Clift (Pathology of theileriosis in roan antelope (Hippotragus equinus)

Oscar Madzingira (Epidemiology and molecular confirmation of Brucella spp. in cattle in Namibia)

Nelly Fikile Makhubu (Nematicidal and antimicrobial efficacy of selected plant species against Meloidogyne incognita and phytopathogens infecting tomatoes)

Milton Franciso Mapatse (Public health awareness and seroprevalence of rabies in dogs in Limpopo National Park, and the phylogeny of rabies virus in Mozambique)

Catherine Edith May (Molecular epidemiological investigation of contagious equine metritis in South Africa)

Musa Zakariah (Age related changes in apoptosis of germ cells in normal and dibutyl phthalate treated testes of Japanese quails (Coturnix coturnix japonica

- Author CvB
Published by Chris van Blerk

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2021. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences