National Mathematics and Statistics Sciences Teaching Development

The National Mathematics and Statistical Sciences Teaching Development is a national collaborative project named: "Teaching Development Grant National Collaborative Project: Strengthening Academic Staff Development in Mathematical and Statistical Sciences in South Africa". It is funded by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). The University of Pretoria (UP) is the lead institution and the project will be led by the Dean of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences at UP.

The launch took place on Monday 11 September 2017 in the Sanlam Auditorium on the Hatfield Campus. 

More information - Overview of the project

Click here to read the communique from Prof Jean Lubuma, Project Coordinator.

The purpose of the project is to support the development of better qualified in-service mathematics and statistics academics at all higher education institutions in South Africa, and in so doing better ensure a more sustainable academic pipeline. This will be achieved by:

1) Supporting entry-level and new-generation academics to engage in postgraduate studies, especially at master’s and doctoral level.

2) Enhancing student learning and academic success through the sustained focus on improving the quality and impact of university lecturers.

3) Developing lecturers’ pedagogical competencies to teach their disciplines competently at multiple levels from undergraduate to postgraduate.

4) Enhancing the ability of university lecturers to supervise postgraduate student research through pedagogical competency and improved qualifications, resulting in academics well-grounded in their disciplines.

Improving the qualifications of mathematics and statistics academics is critical in order to contribute to the achievement of the National Development Plan target of 75% of higher education staff with a doctoral degree. This will also improve the quality of academics and pool of supervisors in the fields of mathematics and statistics.

This project is strongly aligned with the priority “Development of university teachers and teaching” of the Teaching Development Grants.


The project will run for three years: 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2019.

Partner institutions:

University of Fort Hare, University of Johannesburg, University of Limpopo, Nelson Mandela University, North-West University, University of Pretoria, University of South Africa, Stellenbosch University, University of Venda, Walter Sisulu University, University of the Western Cape, University of the Witwatersrand, University of Cape Town, Durban University of Technology, Mangusuthu University of Technology, Rhodes University, University of the Free State, University of Zululand, University of KwaZulu Natal, Department of Science and Technology/National Research Foundation Centre of Excellence in Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, South African Statistical Association, South African Mathematical Society, National Research Foundation, Sol Plaatje University, African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS).

Other institutions that have not been listed above are encouraged to participate in the activities of the project.

Governance Structure for 2017:

Advisory Committee:

Prof L Nongxa – Chair (Wits), Dr F Gumedze (UCT), Prof M K Banda (Pretoria), Prof R Blignaut (Western Cape), Prof D Holgate (Western Cape), Prof M Lesaoana (Limpopo), Prof S Moyo (Venda), Prof W Sinkala (Walter Sisulu).

Project Coordinator:

Prof Jean Lubuma

Academic Project Leader:

Prof M K Banda (Pretoria)

Project Administrator:

Ms Samedah Davis

Node Leaders:

Dr S Ngcibi/Dr James Ndege (Fort Hare), Dr W Morton/Dr G Braatvedt (Johannesburg), Dr F Mhlanga (Limpopo), Dr W Brettenny (Nelson Mandela), Prof L Raubenheimer/Prof S Ter Horst (North-West), Dr R Appadu / Mr S Millard - (Pretoria), Prof S Johnston / Dr E Rapoo (UNISA), Prof I Rewitzky (Stellenbosch), Prof S Moyo (Venda), Prof W Sinkala (Walter Sisulu), Prof R Blignaut (Western Cape), Prof B Watson (Wits), Prof T Zewotir, Dr R Goswami (KwaZulu-Natal), Dr S Krishnannair (Zululand), J Baxter (Rhodes), Prof F Little/Prof P Dunsby (UCT), Prof A Gelebe (Sol Plaatje University).

Priority activities for 2018:

The following activities have been prioritised for 2018:

a) Winter/Summer school travel and attendance;

b) Pre- and post-conference workshops to annual association conferences such as the SASA and SAMS conferences;

c) International course participation;

d) Staff time buy-out or replacement staff costs.


Mathematics and Statistics academic staff at partner universities that offer postgraduate studies and programmes are eligible to apply and be supported through the staff development initiative. Selection is on merit following an appropriate review processes.

The form for applying for funding can be found here

Post-conference report - click here for the form

Click here for the criteria for  Applications

Ms Samedah Davis
012 420 6789
[email protected]
Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2019. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share