Academic Staff

Head of Department  - Professional Staff - Academic & Teaching Staff - Contract Teaching Staff


Head of Department

Prof Serena Coetzee

Program coordinator: MSc and PhD in Geoinformatics


Qualifications:   BSc, BScHons, Higher National Educational Diploma (HNED), MSc, PhD (Pretoria)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3823
Office:               Geography Building 1-3.7


Professional Staff

Mrs Corne van Aardt

Departmental Coordinator (Administration and Finances)

Qualifications:   BTech Office Management and Technology
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2489
Office:               Geography Building 1-16


Mrs Sandra Wilkinson

Departmental Administrator (student inquiries)

Qualifications:   National Diploma: Business Administration
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3536
Office:               Geography Building 1-3.6

Mrs Dandalene Robinson

Senior Administrative Officer, Centre for Environmental Studies

Qualifications: Certificate in Office Administration (Damelin)

email:               [email protected]
Tel:                    012 420 4048
Office:               Geography Building 2-1.4


Mrs Popi Mahlangu

Lab Assistant

email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2880
Office:               Geography Building 1-3.5


Mr Lourens Snyman

Senior Cartographer (Geospatial Information Services)

Qualifications:  BA (UP), BAHons (UP), MA (UP; Cum Laude)

email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2862
Office:               Geography Building 1-8.1

Academic & Teaching Staff

Dr Adedayo Adeleke


Qualifications:   HND (Federal School of Surveying, Nigeria), BScHons (UCT), PhD (UCT)
email:                 [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3283
Office:               Geography Building 1-13

Prof Emma Archer

Program Coordinator: BScHons Geography and Environmental Science


Qualifications:   BA (UCT), BAHons (UCT), PhD Geography (Clark University, USA)

email:                 [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2881
Office:               Geography Building 3-5

Prof Greg Breetzke 

Program Coordinator: MSc and PhD in Geography (NAS)

Associate Professor

Qualifications:   MSc (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), PhD (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 4318
Office:               Geography Building 1-19

Dr Kaera Coetzer

Program Coordinator: MSc in CFES (NAS)

Senior Lecturer

Qualifications:   BSc (Wits), BScHons (Wits), PhD (Wits)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3489
Office:               Geography Building 3-11


Prof Nerhene Davis

Program Coordinator: MA and PhD in Geography (Humanities); MA and PhD in CFES (Humanities)

Associate Professor

Qualifications:   BA Geography (UP), BAHons Geography (UP), MA (Sussex) PhD (UWC)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2882
Office:               Geography Building 2.1-1


Prof Liesl Dyson

Program Coordinator: BScHons Meteorology

Associate Professor

Qualifications:  BSc (UP), MSc Cum Laude (UP), PhD (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2469
Office:               Geography Building 2-12.1

Prof Rebecca Garland

Associate Professor

Qualifications:  BS Environmental Chemistry (Cum Laude) (Allegheny College, USA)
PhD Chemistry (University of Colorado, USA)
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 4172
Office:               Geography Building 3-12

Dr JJ Gregory

Program Coordinator: BSocSciHons Geography and Environmental Science


Qualifications:  BAHons (UJ), MA (Cum Laude) (UJ), PhD (UJ)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2016
Office:               Geography Building 2-7

Dr Christel Hansen

Program Coordinator: BScHons Geoinformatics

Senior Lecturer

Qualifications:   BSc Geoinformatics (Cum Laude) (UP), BScHons Environmental Analysis and Management (Cum Laude) (UP), MSc Geography (Cum Laude) (RU), PhD Geography (RU)

Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 4255
Office:               Geography Building 1-18

Prof Natalie Haussmann

Associate Professor

Qualifications:   BSc (Amsterdam) MSc (Amsterdam), PhD (SUN)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 4049
Office:               Geography Building 1-15

Mr Samy Katumba


Qualifications:   BSc GIS, Computer Science and Mathematical Statistics, BScHons Geoinformatics, MSc Geoinformatics (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 4943
Office:               Geography Building 1-12

Prof Willem A. Landman

Program Coordinator: MSc and PhD Meteorology


Qualifications:   BSc Meteorology, BScHons Meteorology (Cum Laude), MSc Meteorology (Cum Laude), PhD Science (Wits)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3713
Office:               Geography Building 3-7

Dr Michael Loubser

Program Coordinator: BSc Geography and Environmental Sciences


Qualifications:   BSc Physics, BScHons Geography, MSc Geography (UP), PhD Geography (UP)
email:                [email protected] 
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3710
Office:               Geography Building 2-8

Prof Thando Ndarana

Program Coordinator: BSc Meteorology

Associate Professor

Qualifications:   BSc Mathematics and Applied Mathematics (UKZN), BScHons Meteorology (UP), MA, PhD Earth and Planetary Sciences (The Johns Hopkins University, USA)
email:                 [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 5164
Office:               Geography Building 2-5

Mrs Erika Pretorius

Senior Technical Assistant

Qualifications:  BA (UP), HED (UNISA), SocSciHons GIS, MA Geography (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3737
Office:               Geography Building 3-9

Prof Abel Ramoelo

Director: Centre for Environmental Studies

Qualifications:   BSc Environmental Science (UV), BScHons Environmental Science (UV), MSc Geoinformation Science and Earth Observation for Environmental Management and Modelling (UNIS), PhD Remote Sensing (University of Twente, The Netherlands)

email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 2017
Office:               Geography Building 2-1.3

Prof Belinda Reyers

Contract researcher: Centre for Environmental Studies

email: [email protected]

Dr Bolelang Sibolla

Senior Lecturer

Qualifications:   BSc (UCT), MSc (UCT), PhD (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Office:               Geography Building 2-4

Dr Philemon Tsele

Program Coordinator: BSc Geoinformatics

Senior Lecturer

Qualifications:   BSc, BScHons, MSc, PhD (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 4939
Office:               Geography Building 1-14

Dr Barend van der Merwe


Qualifications:   BSc Environmental Science (UP), BScHons Geography (UP), MSc Geography (UP), PhD Geography (UP)
email:                [email protected]
Tel:                    +27 (0) 12 420 3699
Office:               Geography Building 2-11

Contract Teaching

Mr Tsholanang Rammopo

Qualifications: BSc Cum Laude (UP), BscHons (UP) Cum Laude
email: [email protected]
Tel: +27 (0) 12 420 2173
Office: GLAS LAB Geography Building 1-17
Consultation: By appointment

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences