About Humanities

The Faculty is one of the oldest in South Africa – we celebrated our centenary in 2019.  As the intellectual home of the liberal arts, the Faculty’s range of courses form the foundation of a quality education at the University of Pretoria.  

Our academic curricula, research activities and community engagement initiatives not only address the diverse needs of local communities, but also help shape and drive international endeavours and debates.

We are one of the most comprehensive Humanities Faculties in South Africa with 12 different academic departments, 2 teaching units and a number of specialised research centres and institutes. Together we offer 18 undergraduate and 144 postgraduate programmes / qualifications.

Humanities at a glance document below.



Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences