UP Mathematics Competition

The 2020 UP Mathematics Competition will take a new format for this year only - due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

We would love to invite all learners to participate in our online UP Mathematics Quiz taking place 27 to 2 August 2020

Watch this space

Papers will be made available here at 8 am on 27 July categorised in the different grade groups (grade 6 to 11). Access will stay open until 11:59 PM on 2 August.  A google form will be used to complete your answer choices.

Although we will not have the usual monetary prize-winning system this year, we will create a WALL OF FAME on this web page the congratulate the top achievers.

Learners are encouraged to not make use of calculators and to try and complete the quiz in 2 hours.

No prior entry will be needed. Learners can visit this site between 27 and 2 August 2020 and follow the instructions. Come join us and experience the fun of Mathematics. We hope to continue in our usual yearly format in 2021.

Previous Papers

The annual national UP Mathematics Competition has been running for the past 25 years. Since its inception in 1990, the competition has been going from strength to strength under the able leadership of Dr Willie Greybe. After Dr Greybe’s retirement in 2006 the competition was taken over by Miss Rita Möller, Miss Amanda Verwey and Mrs Alta Lategan. In 2014 the competition was organised by Mr Harry Wiggins assisted by Mrs Alta Lategan.

Initially the competition consisted of only two sections, namely for Grade 8 to 9 and Grade 10 to11. Approximately 12 years ago a primary school section (Grade 6 to 7) was added. In 2014 more than 4000 learners took part in this event, with entries from all over the country and some even from Namibia.

The aim of the Competition is for students to have FUN whilst doing mathematics. Expose them to interesting problems. Whilst old papers may be a good way to prepare, the best way is for students to do all the problems given by their school teachers and make sure they know their school syllabus well and can think mathematically. Some problems will be based on school work, others will test problem solving skills and some will be in a real world setting involving time, weight, money, etc.

Contact persons: 

Dr Harry Wiggins ([email protected] or 012 - 420 5872)
Dr Annél Smit ([email protected] or 012 - 420 5839)
Ms Alta Lategan ([email protected] or 012 - 420 2520)
Ms Karin Bothma ([email protected] or 012 - 420 2374)

PLEASE NOTE:  The University of Pretoria owns copyright to all the question papers below. These papers are published on the website under  the Creative Commons Copyright agreement.


Previous Papers:

See the links below

Gr 6&7 2014
Gr 8&9 2014
Gr 10&11 2014
Answers 2014

Gr 6&7 2015
Gr 8&9 2015
Gr 10&11 2015
Answers 2015

Gr 6&7 2016
Gr 8&9 2016
Gr10&11 2016
Answers 2016

Gr 6&7 2017
Gr 8&9 2017
Gr10&11 2017
Answers 2017

Gr 6&7 2018
Gr 8&9 2018
Gr10&11 2018
Answers 2018

Gr 6&7 2019
Gr 8&9 2019
Gr10&11 2019
Answers 2019



Published by Annel Smit

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share