Departmental Research Committee

Departmental Research Committee


Our Departmental Research Committee is chaired by Professor Beth le Roux and supported by  a competent team of enthusiastic staff members who have years of research experience. The Committee focuses primarily on Master's and Doctoral research and related matters that include approving admission applications, assigning supervisors, reviewing research intstruments for submission to the Faculty Ethics Committee, monitoring student progress, and finalising examination-related matters.

The following staff members form part of this Committee:

Alphabetical list
Click on a name to scroll down to the Committee member
Dr L Ball – Senior Lecturer
Office: IT Building 6-54, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 2962
Prof TJD Bothma – Professor Emeritus 
Office: IT Building 6-72, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 2293
Prof AL Dick – Professor Emeritus   
Chair for 2021
Office: IT Building 6-65, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 2294
Prof I Fourie – Professor
Head of the Department
Office: IT Building 6-73.1, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 5216
Prof M Holmner – Associate Professor
Departmental representative on the EBIT’s Ethics Committee, with specific responsibility for the MIT ICT Information Science applications
Office: IT Building 6-43 Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 5215
Dr Paul Laughton – Senior lecturer
Office: IT Building 6-, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420
Prof B Le Roux – Associate Professor
Chair for 2022 and departmental representative on the EBIT’s Ethics Committee
Office: IT Building 6-34, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 2426
Ms A Smith – Lecturer
Office: IT Building 6-63, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 4861
Dr B van Wyk – Contract Senior Lecturer
Office: IT Building 6-56, Hatfield Campus
Tel: +27 12 420 3965

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences