Academic Staff



Prof James Roberts

Acting Head of Department

Associate Professor: Igneous & Metamorphic Petrology

Prof Adam Bumby

Associate Professor: Structural Geology

Prof Matthys Dippenaar

Associate Professor: Vadose Zone Hydrology, Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology

Prof Andzej Kijko

Professor: UP Natural Hazard Centre, Africa

Prof Nils Lenhardt

Associate Professor: Physical Volcanology and Sedimentology

Ms Mampho Maoyi

Lecturer: Engineering Geology and Rock Mechanics

Dr Lorenzo Milani

Senior Lecturer: Economic Geology

Mr Zakhele Nkosi

Lecturer: Earth History and Mineralogy

Dr Ansie Smit

Lecturer and Researcher: UP Natural Hazard Centre, Africa

Ms Valencia Kuppusamy

Lecturer: Engineering Geology and Rock Mechanics

Vacant Position

Lecturer: Environmental Management and Geochemistry

Support Staff



Mrs Lucia Moyo

Departmental Adminstrator 

Ms Jeanette Dykstra

Analytic Facility: X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy

Ms Awelanie Moila

Analytical Facility: X-Ray Diffraction

Ms Vusani Mathada

Museum Curator

Ms Noxolo Nkebe

Laboratory Assistant

Mr Alfred Rampora



- Author MA Dippenaar

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences