Research within the Department is supported and funded by industry, including:

  • Minerals Education Trust Fund (METF)
  • Kumba-Exxaro Chair in Geodynamics
  • Water Research Commission (WRC)
  • Karoo Research Initiative (KARIN).

Research output is further based on postgraduation education and training through close working relationships with, for instance:

  • UP Natual Hazards Centre, Africa (UPNHCA)
  • UP Water Institute (UPWI)
  • South African Centre for Carbon Capture and Storage (SACCCS)
  • Parastatals (e.g. Council for Geoscience; CSIR; Mintek)
  • Professional bodies and registrars
  • Partners in industry
  • South African Committee for Stratigraphy (SACS).
- Author MA Dippenaar

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences