Transformation Plan

The EBIT curriculum transformation committee was established in 2016. The committee’s first task was to develop a faculty transformation plan in response to the UP Curriculum Transformation Framework. (Both of these documents are available on this page.)

The EBIT Curriculum Transformation Committee (EBIT-CTC) is focused on teaching and learning. We consist mostly of academic staff, concerned with how teaching in EBIT can be most effective. (We do not address transformation of the staff complement or HR policies). We aim to be open, and to consult widely as we develop a shared understanding of why and how our teaching practices should transform. We do not expect to reach a single definition, or to achieve a known end-state. Rather, we are committed to a process of ongoing critical self-reflection. 

The curriculum is all the ways in which we engage with our students, and all the lessons that they learn, both intended and unintended. We formally define programmes and courses in the yearbook.  We choose and emphasise content as well as context through our textbooks, notes, lectures and examples. There is also a hidden curriculum, the transmission of norms, values and beliefs. All of these need to be reviewed and updated as our world is changing. How are we preparing students for a multicultural society, for extreme climate change, for the Fourth Industrial Revolution? Which legacies of the past do we need to renounce? How can we make our curriculum accessible to all our students? How do we enable and empower our students to meaningfully engage with multiple knowledges, and imagine and co-construct new knowledges for new times? How do we transform ourselves, as teachers and researchers, in service of our students’ journeys and their futures?

The EBIT-CTC has a number of tasks to address these questions:

  • Surveys of staff and students to identify how we collectively understand transformation. (The preliminary survey will be followed by focus groups and by a targeted survey.)
  •  Evaluation of all modules in the faculty.
  • Audit of accrediting body requirements.
  • Lunchtime talks to have more conversations with each other.

The EBIT-CTC has the following members:

Helen Inglis (Chair), Alta van der Merwe, Shoba Govender (secretary), Adriana Botha, Carin Combrinck, Sizwile Dlamini, Zakkiya Khan, Schalk Kok, Patricia Lutu, Kendy Madisha, Masego Maungwa, Mark Oranje, Lelanie Smith, Daniel Ramotsoela, Nadia Viljoen, Ruric Vogel

If you would like to join, please contact the committee.  

UP Curriculum Transformation Framework 

EBIT Curriculum Transformation Plan


Last edited by Reitumetse Ranthako

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2019. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share