EMS staff members honoured at UP Academic Achievers Awards

Posted on June 03, 2019

The University of Pretoria’s Academic Achievers function, held recently celebrated the exceptional achievements of academic staff at the University. Among those honoured on the night were staff members from the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences, who were recognised for outputs ranging from research and publication to teaching innovation, as well as National Research Foundation (NRF) ratings.
Prof Riël Franzsen, Director of the African Tax Institute (ATI), received the Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarly Book Award in Humanities and Social Sciences together with Prof William McCluskey, for the book Property Tax in Africa: Status, Challenges, and Prospects.
Prof Rangan Gupta from the Department of Economics received the Exceptional Academic Achiever Award for his excellent research achievements, which include nearly 500 publications in nationally and internationally accredited journals.
Ms Marchantia Pollock, Mr Jaco Bezuidenhout and Mrs Elna Verster, all senior lecturers from the Department of Accounting, received the Teaching Excellence and Innovation Laureate Award for their excellent innovative teaching methods. They created a learning environment that combines the use of technology with innovative teaching and embraces a combination of "active" and "collaborative" learning approaches.
Prof Anneli Douglas from the Department of Marketing Management was awarded a C3 NRF rating, while Prof Steve Koch, Head of the Department of Economics, received a C2 rating. Prof Ronél Rensburg from the Department of Business Management was posthumously awarded a B3 rating.
- Author Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences
Published by Liesl Oosthuizen

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2019. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share