The Department of Auditing was established in 2001 and currently has three main focus areas, namely developing the disciplines of auditing, internal auditing and forensic accounting (fraud risk management). It aims to be recognised at national and international levels for its excellence in creating and disseminating knowledge in these focus areas and to positively contribute towards South Africa’s economic and social development by producing innovative internal audit, external audit and forensic accounting graduates with competitive skills. In reaching its objectives the Department contributes to the different professional programmes related to auditing, internal auditing and forensic accounting, as well as research and postgraduate studies. The Department also involves itself with various research, community and continuing education projects.
The Department is proud to have presented the first internal auditing programme in the Southern Hemisphere to be awarded Endorsed Internal Auditing Programme (EIAP) status by the Institute of Internal Auditors Incorporated in 2001. Today the Department is one of only 12 tertiary institutions in the world to be accredited at Centre of Excellence level in the Institute of Internal Auditors Global Internal Audit Education Partnership (IAEP) programme.
We also offer a South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA) accredited programme. Teaching activities are mostly aimed at developing students for the various professional qualifications related to the disciplines of auditing and internal auditing and include the international Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) and the Chartered Accountant (CA[SA]) qualifications. Quality and maintaining high academic standards are the basis of all programmes, courses and research activities.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences