UP’s Tourism Management Division hosts international field research course

Posted on December 08, 2015

The Tourism Management Division in UP’s Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences hosted a Tourism Field Research Training Course early in November 2015.

The course was organised by the universities of Pretoria, Johannesburg, Botswana, Namibia and Oulu (Finland), and supported by the North-South-South Higher Education Programme, an initiative that opens up opportunities for cooperation between higher education institutions in Finland and developing countries.

Lectures on tourism research methods and principles were presented during the course, including workshops focusing on research and the planning and preparation of field work. Emphasis was placed on practical problem solving in preparing research tools, contacting and working with stakeholders, and doing empirical fieldwork. The fieldwork component was done at the Voortrekker Monument and Rhino and Lion Nature Reserve, where postgraduate students from the participating universities observed tourists and interviewed them about their perceptions of rhino poaching.

The course was jointly coordinated and supervised by Prof Jarkko Saarinen from the University of Oulu, Prof Berendien Lubbe, Head of the Tourism Management Division at UP, Prof Felicite Fairer-Wessels, also of the Tourism Management Division, and Prof Gijsbert Hoogendoorn from UJ, in collaboration with Dr Anneli Douglas and Dr Elizabeth Kruger of the Tourism Management Division, Dr Naomi Moswete from the University of Botswana, and Drs Monkgogi Lenao and Kaarina Tervo-Kankare from the University of Oulu.

Back from left to right: Dr Elizabeth Kruger (UP), Prof Berendien Lubbe (UP), Mr Jona Heita (University of Namibia), Mr Maduo Dikobe (University of Botswana), Prof Gijsbert Hoogendoorn (UJ), Mr Craig Allenby (UP), and Prof Jarkko Saarinen (University of Oulu)

Second row from left to right: Prof Felicité Fairer-Wessels (UP), Dr Kaarina Tervo-Kankare (University of Oulu), Dr Monkgogi Lenao (University of Oulu), Ms Nosi Mahlangu (UP), Mr Wayde Pandy (UJ), and Ms Phetsile Fani (UP)

Front from left to right: Dr Anneli Douglas (UP), Dr Naomi Moswete (University of Botswana), Ms Keneilwe Letselela (UP), Ms Mary Ellen John Kimaro (University of Namibia), Mr Pono Mosweu (University of Botswana), and Ms Mari Saastamoinen  (University of Oulu)


- Author Tourism Management Division
Published by Liesl Oosthuizen

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2021. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences