Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences was established in 2005. The purpose of the Advisory Board is to advise the Faculty on issues regarding the educational, research and community service programmes of participating departments. This advice is aimed at the strategic positioning of the Faculty and at ensuring that the academic standards of the Faculty and participating departments meet the quality and relevancy expectations of the private and public sector.

Advisory Board: Terms of Reference

Composition of the Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of at least ten nominated members, active in the public and private sector. These nominations are made by the Faculty and approved by the Vice-Principal.

2017 Advisory Board members:

Dr Rashad Cassim



Head: Research Department, South African Reserve Bank


Mr Wim de Klerk



CEO of  ArcelorMittal South Africa


Mr Russel Loubser




Previous CEO of the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE)

and Director of Companies


Dr Anna Mokgokong



Chairperson of Community Investment Holdings


Dr Johan van Zyl



Senior Managing Officer at Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC)


Dr Claudelle von Eck



CEO of the Institute of Internal Auditors South Africa (IIASA)


Prof Shirley Zinn


CEO of Shirley Zinn Consulting 

and Group Head of HR for Woolworths Holdings

(Two vacant positions)


Meetings of the Advisory Board

The Advisory Board meets at least twice a year. The chairperson may schedule interim meetings on request of any member of the Board. A quorum consists of at least three nominated members, the vice-principal, and the dean or their duly appointed representatives. At meetings, every member has one vote. Decisions are taken by an ordinary majority of the members present. In case of a tie, the chairperson will have a casting vote.

Functions of the Advisory Board

The Advisory Board considers and gives advice on:

- the strategic plans and present initiatives of the Faculty;

-the performance of the Faculty; and

- any other matter on which the Faculty wishes to gain advice.



Published by Gontse Mosese

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences