Congratulations to School of Information Technology Prize giving winners

Posted on August 23, 2022

This annual event was held on 28th of July at the University of Pretoria’s scenic Groen Kloof campus, involving all the departments in the UP School of Information Technology (

This prestigious event was attended by all prize winning students, family, lecturers and industry partners. To make this prize giving a success there were a large number of corporate sponsors, contributing to our department’s prizes, which included contributions from (in no particular order): BMW ZA Hub, Springer Nature, Salesforce, EPI-USE, EXAH, optimi publishing, Pearson, Sabinet, Van Schaik Publishers, Wiley, Publishing Association of South Africa (PASA), Entelect and Gendac. This year’s event was the first face-to-face prize giving since the lockdown was imposed, making it a special festive occasion. The guest speaker this year was Mr Danie Smit from BMW ZA Hub, where in his address he showcased some of the amazing innovations that were developed locally in the ZA Hub and encouraged the students to push the boundaries of what is possible. While the closing student speaker was Mr. Abdul Qadir Soondka, who encouraged the students to keep up the good work and focus on the possibilities.

A hearty congratulations to all the top achievers from the Department of Information Science at the School of Information Technology Prize Giving. The notable prize winners on the night from our three sub disciplines were:

Information Science

Revantika Ramnaraj (Best first year BIS student)

Tayla Godrich (Best second year BIS student)

Sergio Singh (Best third year BIS student)

Nikhita Ramnundhan (Best Honours BIS student)


Nicolette Botha (Best first year BIS student)

Migeul Rebelo (Best second year BIS student)

Monique Hayes (Best third year BIS student)

Savannah Harvett (Overall best BIS student)

Candice Robertson (Best Hons BIS student)

Opal Pillay (Best Hons research prize)


Keelan Matthews (Best first year BIS student)

Stewart Coetzee (Best second year BIS student)

Jody Vos (Best third year BIS student)

Ironé Botha (Overall best BIS student)

Iandro van der Linde; Ironé Botha; Jody Vos; Reinhard Stoop (Best final year project)

Madelyn Nestler (Best Hons BIS student)

A special word of appreciation goes out to all those who organized this event (special mention goes to Prof Marlene Holmer for her contribution) and the wonderful sponsors. It seems as if we have some exceptional talent who will soon be entering the market, representing our department. Well done!

- Author Paul Laughton


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences