Public Law 210

Module code PBL 210
Qualification Undergraduate
Faculty Faculty of Law
Module content
  1. Introduction to constitutional law and theory 
  2. Basic principles regarding constitutional law, the law in general, the State and the individual 
  3. Important constitutional principles and concepts 
  4. The historical development of modern constitutional law 
  5. Overview of the recent constitutional developments in South Africa since 1652 
  6. The different elements of State 
  7. Sources of South African constitutional law 
  8. The founding provisions, the legal order and symbols of the South African State 
  9. Basic principles of co-operative governance in South Africa 
  10. The South African President and the National Executive Authority 
  11. The National Legislative Authority 
  12. Provincial Government 
Module credits 10.00
NQF Level 06
Service modules Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences
Faculty of Humanities
Prerequisites No prerequisites.
Contact time 2 lectures per week
Language of tuition Module is presented in English
Department Public Law
Period of presentation Semester 1

The information published here is subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information. The General Regulations (G Regulations) apply to all faculties of the University of Pretoria. It is expected of students to familiarise themselves well with these regulations as well as with the information contained in the General Rules section. Ignorance concerning these regulations and rules will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences