Programme: BScHons Physics

Kindly take note of the disclaimer regarding qualifications and degree names.
Code Faculty
02240232 Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
Credits Duration
Minimum duration of study: 1 year Total credits: 135

Programme information

Renewal of registration

  1. Subject to exceptions approved by the Dean, on the recommendation of the head of department, and in the case of distance education where the Dean formulates the stipulations that will apply, a student may not sit for an examination for the honours degree more than twice in the same module.
  2. A student for an honours degree must complete his or her study, in the case of full-time students, within two years and, in the case of after-hours students, within three years of first registering for the degree and, in the case of distance education students, within the period stipulated by the Dean. Under special circumstances, the Dean, on the recommendation of the head of department, may give approval for a limited extension of this period.

In calculating marks, General Regulation G.12.2 applies.

Apart from the prescribed coursework, a research project is an integral part of the study.

Admission requirements

BSc (or equivalent qualification) with a minimum of 60% in physics at third-year level OR with permission from the head of department.

Pass with distinction

The BScHons degree is awarded with distinction to a candidate who obtains a weighted average of at least 75% in all the prescribed modules and a minimum of 65% in any one module.

Minimum credits: 135

Minimum credits:  135

Other programme-specific information:

Students registered for the BScHons in Physics degree enrol for Physics 700. The programme comprises of 135 credits and consists of 220 lectures.It includes a research project of 35 credits comprising an individual research report that culminates in a seminar presentation. The programme may optionally include advanced experimental work. The curriculum is compiled in consultation with the Head of the Department of Physics, from whom details are available. With permission from the head of department a maximum of 30 credits may be taken from other postgraduate modules from other departments.

The modules listed below may be taken by students in other honours degree programmes. They must, however, first consult with the Head of the Department of Physics about the availability of a particular module in a particular year.

Core modules

  • Module content:

    The course content is determined by the Head of the Department of Physics.  In addition to the usual subjects, viz. classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, electrodynamics, solid state physics, experiments or modelling, and a mini-research project, there are also elective subjects.

    View more

The information published here is subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information. The General Regulations (G Regulations) apply to all faculties of the University of Pretoria. It is expected of students to familiarise themselves well with these regulations as well as with the information contained in the General Rules section. Ignorance concerning these regulations and rules will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences