Public Law 200

Module code PBL 200
Qualification Undergraduate
Faculty Faculty of Law
Module content *For LLB, BA specialising in law; BAdmin and BCom law (a) Introduction to constitutional law theory (b) Basic principles: the law, the state and the individual (c) The historical development of the South African constitutional law (d) Different elements of a state (e) Sources of the South African constitutional law (f) The founding provisions, the legal order and symbols of the South African state (g) Cooperative government (h) The national legislative authority (i) The president and the national executive authority (j) Provincial government (k) Judicial authority (l) The Bill of Rights: History of human rights in South Africa, jurisprudential and political perspectives on human rights, application, justiciability and interpretation of the bill of rights, jurisdiction, procedures and remedies, limitation of human rights, an analysis of selected human rights (m) State institutions supporting constitutional democracy (n) The public administration (o) The South African security services (p) General provisions
Module credits 20.00
Service modules Faculty of Humanities
Prerequisites No prerequisites.
Contact time 2 lectures per week
Language of tuition Both Afr and Eng
Academic organisation Public Law
Period of presentation Year

The information published here is subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information. The General Regulations (G Regulations) apply to all faculties of the University of Pretoria. It is expected of students to familiarise themselves well with these regulations as well as with the information contained in the General Rules section. Ignorance concerning these regulations and rules will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences