Organisational Structure

School of Health Systems and Public Health

Chairperson/ Head:  Prof Lekan Ayo- Yusuf

The School has 1 Department, 3 Divisions, 1 accredited Research Institute, 1 accredited Research Centre and 1 accredited Research Unit.


Department of Public Health Medicine (Head: Prof Debashis Basu)


  • Behavioural and Health Management Sciences (Head: Prof Joyce Shirinde)
  • Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences (Head: Dr Nico Claassen)
  • Health Measurement Sciences (Head: Prof Alfred Musekiwa)

Accredited Research Institutes/ Centres / Units:

  • Institute for Sustainable Malaria Control (Director: Prof Christiaan de Jager)
  • Africa Centre for Tobacco Industry Monitoring and Policy Research (ATIM)
  • Environmental Chemical Pollution and Health Research Unit (Director: Dr Natalie Aneck-Hahn)


The Executive Committee (EXCO) comprises Heads of Departments, Heads of Divisions and Portfolio Heads as listed below:

Portfolio Heads:

    • Operations: Mr Tiaan Eksteen

    • Research:  Prof Joyce Shirinde

    • Teaching and Learning: Dr Bernice Harris

    • Transformation: Mr Lucky Moropeng

- Author Tiaan Eksteen

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences