2020 IE Prize Giving

Posted on September 29, 2020

On Tuesday 8 September 2020, the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering hosted their annual Industrial Engineering prize-giving function online via a Google Hangout meeting. This event is a celebration of the academic achievements of the top three first-, second- and third-year Industrial Engineering (IE) students of 2019. We are grateful to announce that this has been a ‘first-of-its-kind’ success.


Prizes were awarded in the following categories:

1. Best First-year IE student of 2019 – Prizes sponsored by Magna BC

2. Best Second-year IE student of 2019 – Prizes sponsored by Fourier Approach

3. Best Third-year IE student of 2019 – Prizes sponsored by iPlan Global


In the first category, Best First-year Industrial Engineering Student, Mr Fiddi Schröder was the winner. The 2nd prize winner was Mr Wicus Robbertse.

In the second category, Best Second-year Industrial Engineering Student, Miss Sara Mc Inerney was the winner. The 2nd and 3rd prize winners were Miss Shannon Strydom and Miss Marilee Ohlhoff.

In the third category, Best Third-year Industrial Engineering Student, Mr James Meadows was the winner. The 2nd prize and 3rd prize winners were Miss Elizabeth Olivier and Marné Swanepoel.

Congratulations to all the students who received prizes for their outstanding academic achievements.


The Department would like to express its sincere appreciation to the sponsors of this successful event, Magna BC, Fourier Approach and iPlan, and a special word of thanks to the following representatives of these companies: 

Mr Wessel Richter, Mr Martin Coetzer and Ms Mica van Pletzen from Magna BC.

Mr Wessel van Heerden and Mr Rikus Kellerman from Fourier.

Ms Susan Tredoux, Ms Mornay van der Hoff and Mr Henri Wilson from iPlan.


Meet the Students:



Published by Hanli Helm

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences