Society of South African Geographers – Gold Medalists 2022

Posted on October 03, 2022

The Society of South African Geographers (SSAG) Gold Medal, which is awarded in recognition of meritorious contribution to Geography in Southern Africa, grants honorary lifelong membership of the Society. The SSAG has awarded two Gold Medal Awards, to Dr Clinton van der Merwe and Prof. Serena Coetzee, both from the University of Pretoria.

Serena Coetzee is Professor and Head of the Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology, and has a C1 NRF rating. She has an impressive publication record, collaborating with researchers from at least 20 countries. She has supervised and inspired a new generation of spatially skilled postgraduates, contributing to the development of science through her roles on Editorial Boards and as a reviewer for a variety of journals and panels. She has led several applied projects that have had positive impacts on industry, policy, and communities. The Gold Medal award is recognition of Prof. Coetzee’s significant contributions to the field of spatial data infrastructure.

Dr Clinton van der Merwe has established himself as a geographer through his contributions to debates and discussion on heritage. In parallel, he has made a major contribution to Geography Education, as a teacher, as an educator of teachers, and as founding editor of the Journal of Geography Education in Africa (JoGEA). He is a founding member of the Southern African Geography Teacher’s Association (SAGTA), and the South African National Geography Olympiad (SANGO). The Gold Medal Award is recognition of Clinton’s research and teaching in the field of Tourism Geography; and his contributions to SSAG.

- Author Dr Clinton van der Merwe
Published by Christel Hansen

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences