Virtual Graduation Autumn 2020


The Department of Consumer and Food Sciences celebrates with 5 PhD , 7 Masters, 11 Honors and 71 Bachelors graduates whose degrees were conferred at the University of Pretoria's first virtual graduation ceremony on 6 April.

UP took the extraordinary decision to conduct a virtual graduation ceremony and award all its degrees for the Autumn graduation ceremonies (due to take place from 7 April to 8 May) in absentia. UP had to postpone its traditional graduation ceremonies in adherence to national lockdown regulations set by the South African Government in response to the Covid-19 outbreak, which prohibit mass gatherings.

Vice-chancellor and Principal Professor Tawana Kupe conducted the virtual graduation streamed on the video-sharing channel, YouTube. In his address, Prof. Kupe said the virtual graduation was meant for all the graduates – a recordbreaking 11,001 – to “formally graduate, get your certificate and to get on with your life.” Prof. Kupe said that “as soon as conditions allow” UP would inform graduates about “ways to access your degree certificates” and hold traditional graduation ceremonies in the future.

The Department of Consumer and Food Sciences congratulates the following graduates:








Bachelor of Agricultural Science

  • Keagan Ashton Bodrick (Food Science and Technology)
  • Lilian Kafuko (Food Science and Technology)
  • Daddy Kgonothi (Food Science and Technology)


Bachelor of Consumer Science

  • Isabell Adlem (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Emma Elizabeth Baard (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Amoné Bester (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Chenné Botha (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Bianca Gene Brewis (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Bronagh Celine Buchholtz (Food Retail Management) (Distinction)
  • Rosanne Burger (Food Retail Management)
  • Vivian Clancy Keara (Hospitality Management)
  • Andrea Clare Coutinho (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Teagan Curran (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Candice Leigh Dalton (Food Retail Management) (Distinction)
  • Anna Margaretha Davel (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Nadine De Bruyn (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Jandelee De Jongh (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Nawal Ebrahim (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Lara Eleen Edward (Food Retail Management)
  • Kristin Jenna Forrest (Food Retail Management)
  • Tenille Greer (Clothing Retail Management) (Distinction)
  • Wenette Jordaan (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Danitha Koster (Food Retail Management)
  • Elizabeth Maria Kruger (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Jason Richard Loots (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Marguerite Malan (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Paula Mangold (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Nonkululeko Precious Tokollo Mashiane (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Nicole Fatima Mienie (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Keyani Katia Mitri (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Hope Mkanda (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Marizelle Muller (Food Retail Management)
  • Christina Catherina Nel (Food Retail Management)
  • Hannah Ruth Brade Nel (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Suné Nel (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Liza Niemand (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Nicolene Emza Oosthuizen (Hospitality Management)
  • Xander Pretorius (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Monique Swanepoel (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Courtney Pettifer Tomaz (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Tacia Vakaloudis (Food Retail Management)
  • Annemieke Van Nieuwkerk (Food Retail Management)
  • Sabrina Velini (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Angeliz Venter (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Reandi Visser (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Jessica Angela Wessels (Clothing Retail Management)
  • Tayla Jade Whiting (Clothing Retail Management)


Bachelor of Science

  • Nicole Jennifer Blake (Food Science)
  • Tshipu Dolly Bolelwang (Food Science)
  • Carla Gey van Pittius (Food Science)
  • Nitzia Martinette Homann (Food Science)
  • Boitumelo Prudence Lamola (Food Science)
  • Ntsepase Princess Matete (Nutrition)
  • Carla Mathee (Food Science)
  • Busisiwe Mkhabela (Nutrition)
  • Nkosinathi Sicelo Mndaweni (Food Science)
  • Noluthando Amanda Mndiyata (Food Science)
  • Amaarah Modan (Food Science)
  • Deanne Murphy (Culinary Science)
  • Alshandri Siyabonga Nkosi (Food Science)
  • Rebokile Akabongwe Nyathi (Food Science)
  • Zenani Miemie Nzwana (Food Science)
  • Arendt Geyer Oosthuizen (Food Science)
  • Helen Katelyn Rudolph (Food Science)
  • Caydi Saaiman (Food Science)
  • Njabulo Sibiya (Food Science)
  • Megan Lisa Van den Berg (Culinary Science)
  • Clarissa Van Heerden (Food Science)
  • Adinda Van Wyk (Food Science)
  • Katje Vlotman (Food Science)
  • Marika Monicah Wanjiru (Food Science)


Achievement Awards

  • Rebokile Akabongwe Nyathi (SAAFoST - SOUTH AFRICAN ASSOCIATION FOR FOOD SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY MERIT AWARD) For the most outstanding student in the final year for the degree BSc Food Science or BScAgric in Food Science and Technology
  • Carina Lee Ferreira Mendes (SASDT - SOUTH AFRICAN SOCIETY OF DAIRY TECHNOLOGY MERITORIOUS AWARD) For a student in the Department of Food Science who achieved outstanding results and who displayed exceptional enthusiasm for the dairy component of the syllabus

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences