Staff Achievements





Dr Yvette Naude and Dr Madeling Wooding recently attended The Conversation Africa Awards for Communication Excellence. An award for the single most read article (134 428 reads) was awarded to them. Congratulations! Read more:



Anita Botha was the winner of the EBIT House award for the most prepared and organized lecturer.



Dr Parveen Beebeejaun-Boodoo won one of two awards for the best presentations for VCCA-2022.


Prof. Henrietta Langmi was awarded a highly prestigious grant from Horizon Europe. The Horizon Europe funding scheme is the EU's key funding programme for research and innovation. 

Prof. Langmi is part of a 13-member consortium of partners from six countries; specifically, Spain, Italy, Germany, Austria, the United Kingdom, and South Africa. The consortium received a perfect score of 15 out of 15 from all the evaluators, and the project is set to run from 2022 – 2026 (4 years). Prof. Langmi was awarded an impressive R 3.3 million for her crucial role in the project which will focus on the lab-scale development of MOF materials for hydrogen storage. 


Dr Nolwazi Nombona as one of only five candidates selected by UP for the  DHET Future Professors programme.


Professor Patricia Forbes was appointment by Minister Barbara Creecy of The Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment, as a member of a panel of experts to review national air quality standards.

The appointment is a strong and clear recognition of Professors Forbes expertise and high quality of her research in air quality. At the same time, it provides a unique opportunity for providing a positive impact in terms of science informing policy.

Prof Forbes was also elected as the International Local Section Representative on Member Networks Committee, for the Royal Society of Chemistry.


With less than 6 weeks until the 71st Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, we are proud to announce that Dr Gugu Kubheka will be among the 611 young scientists invited from 91 countries.  

To find out more about this reward go to click here.

To find out more about this research group click here.




Anita Botha was the winner of the EBIT House award for Best Service Module Lecturer.


Engineering students voted Sifiso Nsibande as the most reliable lecturer in semester 1.


Patricia Forbes is featured in the Job Profiles of a Future in Chemistry by the Royal Society of Chemistry.



Yvette Naudé is included in Andy Bunning's list of Women in Chemistry in March 2021. 

Read about one of Yvette's projects in The Conversation


To see the whole list click here



Prof Patricia Forbes elected to the Professional Standards Board of the Royal Society of Chemistry, made Fellow of SA Chemical Institute

Professor Patricia Forbes, incumbent of the Rand Water Chemistry Research Chair in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Pretoria (UP), was not only recently elected to the Professional Standards Board (PSB) of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), she has also been made a Fellow of the South African Chemical Institute (SACI).

This is the first time that a member from outside the United Kingdom has participated in the PSB, which serves to advise the RSC Council on strategic developments in professional and employment practices. The RSC is over 175 years old and has more than 54 000 members from around the world. Prof Forbes said that her involvement in the management structure of this prestigious society “is exciting and will allow me to contribute in a tangible manner to shaping the future of the chemical sciences. Chemistry is vital in our everyday lives and provides an important facet towards solving many global challenges, including environmental pollution, energy production and the need for novel pharmaceuticals to treat medical conditions”.

Prof Forbes has been acknowledged locally, as she was made a SACI Fellow, for her strong leadership and excellence in the profession of chemistry, as well as for her volunteer service to the chemical community. There is currently a total of 38 SACI fellows.


Teaching awards

Anita Botha was the winner of the EBIT House award for Best Service Module lecturer and received the NAS Cluster Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dr Nowazi Nombona was also nominated for the Cluster Excellence in Teaching Award and Nick de Beer was nominated for the Best First Year Lecturer Award by NAS house.




Professor Egmont Rohwer awarded prestigious Georg Forster Award

Professor Egmont Rohwer, who heads the University of Pretoria’s (UP) Mass Spectrometry and Chromatography Laboratory in the Department of Chemistry, was recently awarded the prestigious Georg Forster award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany.

Every year, the Foundation enables more than 2 000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. It maintains a network of more than 29 000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 55 Nobel Prize winners.

The Georg Forster Award honours researchers from developing and transition countries who have earned international recognition for their research work and aim to solve development-related issues. Award winners are nominated by specialist colleagues from Germany and are invited to establish or expand co-operation with them.

Prof Rohwer, former head of UP’s Department of Chemistry, has been given a research award for cooperation with specialist colleagues at the University of Rostock and the Helmholtz Zentrum Munich – German Research Centre for Environmental Health.

You can view earlier staff awards here.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences