Email us

Virtual Campus


Academic staff

Prof. Nigel Bennett South African Research Chair in Mammalian Behavioural Ecology and Ecophysiology
Prof. Chris Chimimba Systematics of southern African fauna
Prof. P. J. Nico de Bruyn Marion Island Marine Mammal Programme
Prof. Andre Ganswindt Director - Mammal Research Institute / Vertebrate endocrinology and conservation physiology
Dr Jeyanthi Gopalraj Physiology / Immunological aspects of goat-tick relationships
Dr Grant Hall Manager - Stable Isotope Laboratory / Stable isotope ecology and paleo-environment reconstruction
Dr Almuth Hammerbacher Chemical interactions
Dr Brett Hurley Tree Protection Cooperative Programme
Prof. Kerstin Krüger ARPPIS Local Coordinator / Insect-plant interactions
Dr Heike Lutermann Undergraduate Academic Advisor / Behavioural ecology, parasite ecology and ecophysiology
Prof. Andrew McKechnie South African Research Chair in Conservation Physiology
Dr Carel Oosthuizen First-year Zoology Coordinator / Molecular ecology and evolution
Prof. Christian Pirk Honours Coordinator / Behavioural, chemical and evolutionary ecology of social insects
Prof. Mark Robertson Community ecology, macro-ecology and biological invasions
Prof. Adrian Shrader Behavioural ecology of mammalian herbivores
Prof. Catherine Sole Postgraduate Coordinator / Molecular systematic and evolutionary zoology
Prof. Chris Weldon Marketing and Media Liaison / Applied and physiological entomology

Dr Abdullahi Ahmed Yusuf

Chemical ecology of social insects

Support staff

Mr Human Buirski

IT Support

[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-5147
Mrs Marna Ferreira

Control Technical Assistant

[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-2367
Mrs Karin Fischer Personal Assistant, Mammal Research Institute

[email protected]

27 (0)12 420-2066
Mrs Revonne Harris


[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-3235
Mr Joseph Mabogwane Messenger [email protected] +27 (0)12 420-4607
Ms Stokana Mahapa

First Technical Assistant / Health and Safety Officer

[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-2608
Mrs Estme Msiza

Laboratory Assistant

[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-4607
Mr Tlhogi Selaledi Control Technical Assistant / Building maintenance [email protected] +27 (0)12 420-2748
Ms Kitty Stamhuis Control Technical Assistant [email protected] +27 (0)12 420-3230
Ms Vongani Maboko Departmental Administrator [email protected] +27 (0)12 420-2539

Senior research associates

Prof. Marthan Bester Population biology and ecology of pinnipeds in the Southern Ocean
Prof. Sue Nicolson Pollinator ecophysiology
Prof. Clarke Scholtz Scarab taxonomy, systematics and biology
Prof. Rudi van Aarde Community Ecology Research Unit

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr Dina Mustafa Fagir Host-parasite interactions in small mammals
Dr Katarina Medger Physiology and behavioural ecology of small mammals
Dr Samantha Naidoo Phenotypic flexibility in bat thermal physiology
Dr Marietjie Oosthuizen Neuroendocrinology and anatomy of reproduction, circadian biology, memory and learning of small mammals
Dr Margaux Rat Animal behaviour: Group-living and social organisation
Dr Sonja Streicher  
Dr Anne Treasure Ecology, oceanography, and marine ecology
Dr Ingrid van der Merwe  
Dr Cornelia Voigt Neural and hormonal correlates of dominance rank in Damaraland mole rats
Dr Els Vermeulen Population structure and viability of Indian Ocean humpback dolphins (Sousa plumbea) in South Africa
Dr Mia Wege Foraging and behavioural ecology
Dr John Wilson  

Contract appointments

Dr Adrian L.V. Davis


[email protected]  
Mr Christian Deschodt

Senior Research Assistant

[email protected]  
Mr Johan Fourie First Technical Assistant

[email protected]

Dr Robert Guldemond

Researcher (C2) / Conservation Ecology Research Unit

[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-3231
Miss Alexandra Howard NRF Intern [email protected]  
Dr Hannelie Human

Researcher (C2) / Social Insects Research Group

[email protected] +27 (0)12 420-2548
Ms Carmen Jacobs

Senior Technical Assistant

[email protected]  
Mr Daniel Kewane Laboratory Assistant [email protected] +27 (0)12 420-4607
Dr Camilla Norgaard First Technical Assistant [email protected] +27 (0)12 420-2561
Mrs Janine Snyman Senior Administrative Officer [email protected]  
Ms Nicola Visagie Technical Assistant [email protected]  

Extraordinary professors

Prof. Tim Clutton-Brock

Director of Research, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge, UK

Prof. Robin Crewe

Director, Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Prof. Ansie Dippenaar-Schoeman

ARC - Plant Protection Research Institute, South Africa

Prof. Johan du Toit

S. J. & Jessie E Quinney College of Natural Resources, Utah State University, Utah, USA

Prof. Chris Faulkes

Reader in Evolutionary Ecology, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Prof. Rami Kfir

Formerly Research Institute Manager, ARC - Plant Protection Research Institute, South Africa

Prof. Mervyn Mansell


Prof. Robin Moritz

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Prof. Peter Neumann

Vinetum Professor, Institute of Bee Health, University of Bern, Switzerland

Prof. Stuart Pimm

Doris Duke Chair of Conservation Ecology, Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University, Texas, USA

Extraordinary lecturers

Dr Tom Rhys Bishop

University of Liverpool, UK

Dr Jackie Dabrowski

Director, Confluent Environmental, South Africa

Dr Fredrik Dalerum

University of Oviedo, Spain

Dr Vincent Dietemann

Agroscope, Bern, Switzerland

Dr Ian Engelbrecht

Gauteng Nature Conservation, South Africa

Dr Hannelie Human

Department of Zoology and Entomology, University of Pretoria
Dr Ferran Jori

CIRAD, Montpellier, France

Dr Peter Lindsey

Policy Initiative Coordinator, Lion Program, Panthera

Dr Berndt Janse van Rensburg

School of Biological Sciences, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

Dr Diedrich Visser

Agricultural Research Council - Vegetable and Ornamental Plant Institute, South Africa

Dr Tsungai Zengeya Senior Scientist - South African National Biodiversity Institute


- Author C. Weldon
Share this page
Last edited by Christopher WeldonEdit