Remembering UP’s graduation ceremonies: 18 April 1931

Posted on April 18, 2024

On this "Day in the life of the University of Pretoria" UP held its second graduation since it was declared a university in 1930. At this ceremony, the Vice-Chancellor, prof A.E. du Toit, constituted the congregation and each student were introduced by the Deans of the respective faculties.


On 18 April 1931 the University awarded 35 degrees. These included: three Masters degrees in Chemistry; one master degree in Psychology and one Master degree in Animal Husbandry. The university also awarded ten Bachelor of Arts degrees; six Bachelor of Law degrees and two degrees in Theology. Two Bachelor degrees of Commerce was also awarded and one degree in Public Administration. The university also awarded four diplomas in Education; one diploma in Social work; three diplomas in domestic Science and one diploma in public administration.


During the autumn 2024 graduation UP will confer more than 12 500 degrees. Many of the past graduation programmes, photographs and recollections are housed in the University of Pretoria Archives (UPA). The UPA preserves the history of the University of Pretoria and its numerous holdings include an extensive photo collection, as well as news clippings and histories detailing the growth and impact of the University.  Please contact us at [email protected] to share your Tukkies experiences, or visit the UPA reading room to view our collection

- Author Alida Green

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences