Email us

FAQ
Virtual Campus

Siyanqoba Regional Olympiad Training Programme

The Siyanqoba Regional Olympiad Training Programme is a mathematics olympiad training programme that is sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology and organised nationally by the South African Mathematics Foundation.  The programme has regional centres across South Africa.  The Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics at the University of Pretoria is a regional centre for the North Gauteng region (Pretoria and surrounding areas).  The other regional centres in Gauteng are the Tshwane University of Technology (contact Dr Maggie Aphane at [email protected]) and the University of the Witwatersrand (contact Dr Belinda Huntley at [email protected], or Dr Jonathan Kariv at [email protected] or 071-645-8828).

The programme is targeted at mathematically talented learners who have an interest in mathematics.  It is not a remedial programme and is not intended for learners who struggle with mathematics and seek extra instruction on school work.

Classes are presented, free of charge, to junior learners (Grades 8 and 9) and senior learners (Grades 10 to 12) at the Hatfield campus of the University of Pretoria.  Learners are taught mathematics olympiad problem solving techniques by coaches who themselves have a strong background in mathematics olympiads.  A selection test must first be passed to be admitted to the programme.

The dates and times of the classes for 2019 are as follows (terms are those of government schools):

Term 1:

  • Selection test for new learners: Wednesday 6 February, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 1: Wednesday 13 February, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 2: Wednesday 20 February, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 3: Wednesday 27 February, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 4: Wednesday 6 March, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 5: Wednesday 13 March, 17:30 – 19:00

Term 2:

  • Class 6: Wednesday 10 April, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 7: Wednesday 24 April, 17:30 – 19:00 (some private schools have holidays)
  • Class 8: Wednesday 8 May, 17:30 – 19:00 (learners having Ramadan are excused from this class)

Term 3:

  • Class 9: Wednesday 24 July, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 10: Wednesday 7 August, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 11: Wednesday 21 August, 17:30 – 19:00 (some private schools have holidays)
  • Reserved for possible class: Wednesday 28 August, 17:30 – 19:00
  • Class 12: Wednesday 4 September, 17:30 – 19:00 (some private schools have holidays)
  • Reserved for possible class: Wednesday 11 September, 17:30 – 19:00

There are no classes in Term 4.

Please contact Dr Ruaan Kellerman at [email protected] or on (012) 420 2572 for more information.

- Author Ruaan Kellerman
Share this page
Last edited by Ruaan KellermanEdit