BSc (Geography and Environmental Sciences)

Programme Coordinator

Name: Mr Michael Loubser
Office: Hatfield Campus - Geography Building 2-8
Email: [email protected]
Phone: +27(0) 12 420 3710
Consultation times: By appointment

Program Overview

The BSc Geography and BSc Environmental Sciences degree offers 7 areas of specialisation. These are majors in:

  • Anthropology
  • Ecology
  • Geoinformatics
  • Heritage and Cultural Tourism
  • Meteorology
  • Plant Science
  • Soil Science

Below are flowcharts of the prerequisites and the structure of the BSc Geography & Environmental Sciences degree. This should help you identifying which module leads on to which other module. Please note that this is the structure for the current enrolments ( i.e. those registered in 2023). The first flowchart also only lists prerequisites for your core modules. Each major is then shown in its own flowchart.


BSc Geography & Environmental Sciences fundamental & core modules

flowchart of fundamental and core modules

Major in Anthropology

flowchart for majoring in anthropology

Major in Ecology

flowchart for majoring in ecology

Major in Geoinformatics

flowchart gor majoring in geoinformatics

Major in Heritage and Cultural Tourism

flowchart for majoring in heritage and cultural tourism

Mahor in Meteorology

flowchart for majoring in meteorology

Major in Plant Science

flowchart for majoring in plant science

Major in Soil Science

flowchart for majoring in soil science

- Author Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences