Management Structure

The management structure of the University of Pretoria Diabetes Research Centre includes a Management Committee and an Advisory Board.


UP Diabetes Research Centre Management Committee

The UP Diabetes Research Centre Management Committee approves plans and budgets of the Research Centre, and reviews progress and recommendations for new projects.

The Management Committee is composed of the Director (Chairperson), the Senior Project Manager, the Cluster Heads, and other representatives from member faculties.

Director: Prof Paul Rheeder

Senior Programme Manager: Dr Patrick Ngassa Piotie

Heads of Clusters:

  • Diabetes Prevention and Health Promotion: Prof Paola Wood and Dr Zelda White.
  • Diabetes Management in Primary Healthcare: Prof Elize Webb and Dr Owen Eales.
  • Diabetes Management in Hospitals: Prof Danie van Zyl and Prof Paul Rheeder.
  • Diabetes in Pregnancy: Prof Sumaiya Adam and Prof Danie van Zyl.
  • Diabetes in Children and Adolescents: Dr Maria Karsas and Dr Tanja Kemp.
  • Diabetes Technologies: Dr Maria Karsas and Dr Tanja Kemp.


UP Diabetes Research Centre Advisory Board

Chaired by Prof Tiaan de Jager, Dean of the University of Pretoria’s Faculty of Health Sciences.

The Advisory Board provides strategic leadership to the Research Centre. Its members advise, support, and assist the Management Committee to ensure that the UP Diabetes Research Centre fulfils its vision and mission. 

The Board comprises:

  • Experts in the field of diabetes,
  • Representatives of civil society and international organisations,
  • People with lived experience, and
  • Representatives of the local and national health authorities.
- Author P Ngassa Piotie
Published by Patrick Ngassa Piotie

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences