The Department of Afrikaans is one of five language departments in the Humanities Faculty at the University of Pretoria. Since its inception the Department has changed continuously. In the past prominent academics like M.S.B. Kritzinger, A.P. Grové, Elize Botha, Louis Eksteen, Réna Pretorius and Christo van Rensburg worked here and several well-known Afrikaans writers are alumni of the Department. These include writers such as Bartho Smit, PG du Plessis, Chris Barnard, Welma Odendaal, Phil du Plessis, Casper Schmidt, John Miles, Chris Pelser, Henning Pieterse, Koos Prinsloo, Hans Pienaar and Johann Lodewyk Marais.

Innovation and creative thinking characterise the teaching and research of the literature and language subdisciplines in this Department. The current academic courses, initiatives and research reflect the diverse and complex nature of language and culture in South Africa. In this regard we contribute to the development of future generations of professionals in the areas of education, publishing, media and the language professions. Here students are equipped to live in a globalising world with competing interests and responsibilities.


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences