Partnerships and Collaborations

International Association for Visual Culture

Prof Amanda du Preez serves on the Governing Board of the International Association for Visual Culture (Dr Marquard Smith, Director; Prof Nicholas Mirzoeff, Deputy Director; Prof Michael Ann Holly, President). 


The International Association for Visual Culture means to foster communication and exchange among individuals and institutions engaged in critical analyses of and interventions in visual culture. As such, it means to sponsor and support trans-national and trans-disciplinary engagements across a wide range of communities, organizations, and platforms. The Association seeks both to encourage inquiry and debate within the field and to advocate for the critical and theoretical expansion of visual culture studies in sites as various as the museum, the university, the artist’s studio, and emergent alternatives to them.



University of Groningen, Department of Arts, Culture and Media/Film


Another fruitful venture is the establishment of the international collaboration initiative focussing on staff and student exchange between the University of Groningen (RUG), in particular between the departments of Culture, Arts, and Media/Film  (Groningen) and Visual Arts (UP). Main partners Prof Annie van den Oever (director of the Masters Film Studies) and Prof Amanda du Preez (Visual Culture Studies). 



Collaboration with the Humboldt University Berlin on the Hoffmann Collection of Northern Sotho Cultural Heritage

Prof Lize Kriel and Dr Annekie Joubert of Humboldt University, Berlin, are involved in a project on the Hoffmann Collection of Northern Sotho Cultural Heritage, where she investigates the production, circulation and consumption of missionary Carl Hoffmann’s ethnographic, religious and biographical writings, illustrations and photographs in academic journals, popular magazines and books amongst Northern Sotho, Afrikaans, English and German audiences over the first six decades of the twentieth century. 

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences