School of the Arts

Welcome to the School of the Arts at the University of Pretoria

On behalf of the staff I wish to thank you for visting our website.


The University of Pretoria’s School of the Arts strives to be the academic locus in South Africa that produces the most distinguished postgraduate researchers, prolific creative talent and performing artists, and provide access and opportunity across demographics to all talented students from all South African communities who wish to maintain standards of excellence at UP and thereby make a contribution.

I hope you take the time to explore the information on our website which will introduce you to our different degree options, scholarship programmes, events and distinguished staff members.

Professor Alexander Johnson
Head of the School of the Arts and Chair of Music


The School of the Arts offers training in the following programmes:

Classical Music


Classical Voice and Opera






Fine Arts


Information Design


Visual Studies


Art Therapies


Digital Culture and Media


Heritage Conservation


Interdisciplinary and Museum Studies


Arts of Africa



(Postgraduate Degrees are offered in all programmes)


Tuks Camerata
UP Ovuwa Cultural Ensemble
UP Symphony Orchestra

Prospective students who are looking for more information are encouraged to contact the department here.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences