Academic Achievement

Posted on May 19, 2017

The awards for teaching and community engagement were handed over at the Achiever’s Evening on 9 May. Each year there are two Teaching Excellence Laureates. For 2016/17 the individual Laureate was awarded to Professor Ernest Wolff of the Department of Philosophy, who works to keep human interaction central to teaching. The team Laureate went to Ms Corlia Joynt and Ms Madelyn Cloete of the Department of Accounting for the innovative ways in which they are engaging students in their discipline through embracing evidence-based hybrid methodologies. The Community Engagement Award went to Mr van Dijk of the Department of Civil Engineering for working to bring sustainable energy through hydropower to rural communities, building capacity in communities for the construction of dams,f or instance, skills that will be useful for individuals going forward, but also creating local expertise to make the running of the project sustainable.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences