Message from the Chairperson

Message from the Chairperson

The School is unique as it focuses on caring as applied to the five different Health Care Sciences, represented by the five Departments, namely Nursing Science, Radiography, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy and Human Nutrition. In the School, students receive professional integrated training, comprising of theoretical as well as practical components in clinical as well as in community environments. The quality assurance of training is therefore important. Professional boards control the latter. Students register as health care professionals with the relevant board on completion of their training.

The most obvious, but for the people of the School also the most important characteristic of the School, is the academic diversity of the Departments within the School. Five different professional groups are being trained. Each group has its own unique field of study. However, common modules have been identified and developed in support of the ethos of teamwork.

The diversity is, however, considered to be an asset as it creates numerous opportunities for research of which interdisciplinary research is only one example.

Prof Fhumulani Mavis Mulaudzi

- Author Message from the Chairperson
Published by Jimmy Masombuka

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences