Permanent Staff

Permanent staff

Prof Ronny Webber-Youngman: Head of Department

BEng (Mining) (Pretoria), MEng (Mining) (Pretoria), PhD (Mech) (NWU), Pr.Eng, MMC

SAIMM, AMMA, SOMP (President 2014)

Tel: +27 12 420 2443

Email: [email protected]


Ms Daleen Gudmanz: Departmental Administrator





Tel: +27 12 420 3763

Email: [email protected]

Prof Francois Malan: Associate Professor

B Ing (Elec) Cum Laude (RAU), M Ing (Elec) Cum Laude (RAU), PhD (Mining) (WITS), Pr. Eng., MSAIMM, MSANIRE, ISRM
(Vice-President Africa 2007-2011), SOMP 

Director: Mining Resilience Research Centre

Harmony Chair in Rock Engineering and Numerical Modelling 

Tel: +27 12 420 5965

Email: [email protected]

Mr Jannie Maritz: Senior Lecturer

BEng (Mining)(Pretoria), BEng (Hon), MOT (Pretoria), MEng (Pretoria), Pr.Eng, MMC, RMC


Head: Virtual Reality Centre

Departmental responsibility: Student Administration, Teaching and Learning

Tel: +27 12 420 4571

Email: [email protected]

Mr Wolter de Graaf: Senior Lecturer

BEng (Mining) (Pretoria), BEng (Hon) (Pretoria), Pr.Eng, MMC, MEng (Pretoria)


Departmental responsibility: Marketing and Communication

Tel: +27 12 420 3180

Email: [email protected]


Dr Bertie Meyer: Senior Lecturer

BEng (Mining) (Pretoria), MSc, PhD, Pr.Eng

Departmental responsibility: Department projects


Tel: +27 12 420 6876

Email: [email protected]


Ms Sezer Uludag: Lecturer

BSc Mining Eng, MSc Mining Eng, Pr.Eng




Tel: +27 12 420 3195

Email: [email protected]

Mr Wilson Magongwa: Messenger





Tel: +27 12 420 6692

Email: [email protected]

Published by Marietha Hicks

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share