Mining Alumni Society of the University of Pretoria (MASUP)

The Department of Mining Engineering enjoys the active support of its alumni through MASUP. Members of the society support the Department by raising sponsorships, ensuring that a high level of skills and educational standards are maintained, offering mentorships, providing external examiners, being available for industry discussions, offering guidance and serving on the Department’s Advisory Committee. MASUP also serves as a social network for mining engineers in industry. Two of the society’s prestigious annual events include the Annual General Meeting, during which it awards both the Gold Medal Achievement Award and student achievement awards, and the Presidential Dinner. 


The Phambili initiative is a call to action based on the philosophy of ubuntu: the belief in a universal bond of sharing that connects all humanity. It is a two-pronged initiative, comprising two programmes: Phambili Merits and Phambili Innovation.

Phambili Merits focuses on skills development by providing the following:

  • Bursaries to support eligible students within the Department of Mining Engineering
  • Sponsoring student support structures within the Department
  • Customised skills programmes to support career development
  • Re-skilling employees within the mining sector to enable them to remain relevant to market changes

Phambili Innovation focuses on providing a service that will align business transformation efforts with industry needs by developing innovative solutions to traditional business challenges. This initiative is delivered through the following: 

  • Industry-focused research and development projects
  • Partnering within the MASUP stakeholder network to create industry-specific enterprise and supplier development programmes
  • Investing in socio-economic development that supports industry outcomes

The rationale behind Phambili is that it will provide stakeholders with solutions that will secure sustainability in the industry at large, striking a balance between improving transformation and ensuring the industry’s visibility in a volatile environment. Through collaboration with industry stakeholders, MASUP hopes to contribute to seven of the elements in the National Development Plan by redirecting its efforts and spend to promote gender equality, maintain quality education and commit to partnerships that will achieve economic growth and industry innovation.

Stakeholders wishing to support this initiative can contact Bennie Burger at [email protected]

MASUP Committee

  • President: Dr Bertie Meyer 
  • Vice President: Riaan Gilfillan
  • Treasurer: Quentin Botha 
  • Members:
    • Head of Department: Prof Ronny Webber-Youngman (ex officio)
    • Bennie Burger 
    • Johann Esterhuyse
    • Danie Lourens (Past President)
    • Ben Bruwer (Past President)
    • Francois Nell
    • Takalani Randima
    • Danie Roos
    • Pontsho Shilote (Student Representative)
  • Honorary President: Dr Con Fauconnier

Prominent alumni

The Department boasts with several alumni who have reached the highest ranks of business, not just in the mining industry. The names of prominent alumni are regularly brought to the attention of the Department, but that does not mean that the following alumni (listed alphabetically) are the only industry leaders who have gained recognition on the basis of a degree obtained from this Department. We therefore acknowledge those alumni whose achievements have not been brought to our attention as well. The positions mentioned below relate to current and previous positions held by these individuals. Many of these alumni also serve on the Department’s Advisory Board.

  • Mr Rassie Alberts, COO
  • Mr David Boshoff, CEO
  • Mr Theo Bothoulas, CEO
  • Mr Johan de Vos, MD
  • Prof Con Fauconnier, CEO
  • Mr Hennie Faul, CEO
  • Mr Dirk Fourie, COO
  • Mr Louis Germishuys, COO
  • Mr Chris Griffith, CEO
  • Mr Rikus Grimbeek, CEO
  • Mr Johan Jansen, CEO
  • Mr Koos Jordaan, CEO
  • Mr Pierre Jordaan, Head of Mining
  • Mr André Joubert, CEO
  • Mr Pierre Joubert, CEO
  • Mr Rowan Karstel, CEO
  • Mr Manie Kriel, CEO
  • Mr Dirk Kruger, MD
  • Mr Henry Laas, CEO
  • Dr Gys Landman, CEO
  • Mr Jaqco Lottering, MD
  • Mr Floyd Masemula, Senior Vice-President
  • Mr Nico Muller, CEO
  • Mr Byers Nel, COO
  • Mr Gerhard Potgieter, COO
  • Mr Peter Steenkamp, CEO
  • Mr Bernard Swanepoel, CEO
  • Mr Hugo Tukker, MD
  • Mr Don Turvey, CEO
  • Mr Francois Uys, CEO
  • Mr Wilco Uys, CEO
  • Mr Riaan van der Merwe, COO
  • Mr Riaan Vermeulen, Head of Mining
Published by Marietha Hicks

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences