About the Department of Medical Virology

The Department of Medical Virology at the University of Pretoria was established as an independent Department in 1983 after previously resorting within the Department of Medical Microbiology as the "Section: Virology".  In October 2004 the Department of Medical Virology became part of the Tshwane Academic Division, Northern Branch of the National Health Laboratory Services (NHLS).  The Department is located in the Pathology building, Prinshof Campus, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria and is involved in teaching and training, research and the provision of a viral diagnostic service to the public and private sector.  The teaching and training component services pre- and post-graduate medical students and post-graduate medical science students specializing in basic and medical virology.  Research focuses include Enteric viruses, Environmental Virology, Respiratory viruses and Arboviruses such as West Nile virus, Wesselsbron virus, Shuni virus, Alphaviruses etc.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences