BSc (Meteorology)

Programme Coordinator

Name: Prof Thando Ndarana
Office: Hatfield Campus - Geography Building 2-5
Email: [email protected]
Phone: +27(0) 12 420 5164
Consultation times: By appointment

Program Overview

The BSc Meteorology degree offers 5 areas of specialisation. These are majors in:

  • Applied Mathematics
  • Geography and Environmental Science
  • Geoinformatics
  • Statistics
  • Zoology

Below are flowcharts of the prerequisites and the structure of the BScMeteorology degree. This should help you identifying which module leads on to which other module. Please note that this is the structure for the current enrolments ( i.e. those registered in 2023). The first flowchart also only lists prerequisites for your core modules. Each major is then shown in its own flowchart.


BSc Meteorology fundamental and core modules

flowchart of bsc meteorology fundamental and core modules

BSc Meteorology important milestones

Also have a look at this image to ensure you meet hte major milestones (modules) in core section of the program.

flowchart of important milestones for bsc meteorology

Majoring in Applied Mathematics

flowchart for majoring in applied mathematics

Majoring in Geography and Environmental Science

flowchart for majoring in geography and environmental science

Majoring in Geoinformatics

flowchart for majoring in geoinformatics

Majoring in Statistics

flowchart for majoring in statistics

Majoring in Zoology

flowchart for majoring in zoology

- Author Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences