UP Law's academic stars shine bright at annual Recognition of Achievement Function

Posted on May 07, 2018

On the evening of  Monday,16 April 2018, the Faculty of Law at the University of Pretoria hosted its annual Recognition of Achievement Function to celebrate its 2017 academic achievers.  This event, which is one of the highlights on the Faculty's calendar for staff, students and young graduates alike, creates a platform for bursars and donors, consisting of law firms and legal institutions, to be present at the handing over of awards and prizes to the top performers. 

Justice Sisi Khampepe was the keynote speaker at this event.  According to Dean André Boraine, '[t]he Faculty of Law was honoured to have Justice Sisi Khampepe, one of the current 11 justices of the Constitutional Court of South Africa, delivering the keynote address.  She inspired the young generation of lawyers and lawyers-to-be to work towards a better South Africa for all.  She reminded the audience of practicing lawyers' social duty and ethical commitment towards eradicating the deep social inequalities'.  

Deputy Dean of Teaching and Learning, Prof Anton Kok, directed the programme, whilst Dr Carika Fritz from the Department of Mercantile Law and Adv Mayuri Pillay from the Department of Private Law were the announcers as per enclosed programme.

Marking this event and as a tribute to the late Rudolph Jansen (1 January 1964 to 25 November 2017), Professors Karin van Marle and Danie Brand introduced the Rudolph Jansen Prize (click to read the tribute) for the best student in Land Reform, of which the first recipient is Nonkosazana Nkosi.

This event was followed by the Faculty's Autumn Graduation on 17 April 2018.

Clockwise: Audience, Justice Sisi Khampepe and Dean André Boraine, Deputy Dean Anton Kok and Prof André Boraine. 

- Author Elzet Hurter
Published by Srinivasu Nadupalli

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences