Undergraduate programme

The Faculty of Law at the University of Pretoria on undergraduate level offers the LLB programme. This programme equips students for the legal profession and various other fields. The LLB is the basic requirement for entrance to the legal profession. After secondary schooling, students who qualify may immediately enrol for an LLB, or may register for the LLB after completing a BCom (Law) or BA (Law) or any other degree.

In the first year students are given a basic introduction to the South African legal system. Emphasis is placed on the development of skills, especially language skills and computer literacy. Students also enrol for additional non-law subjects to ensure that they are exposed to a wide range of subjects.

During the following three years, all of the core aspects of the law are covered. The Faculty of Law prides itself on its thorough foundation in commercial law, which is of obvious importance to those who will work in the corporate world.

Two features distinguish the fourth year from other LLB programmes in the country. Apart from doing some compulsory courses, students are allowed to select courses in their final year that assist them in cultivating their interests, and to explore new subject fields.  There are 28 electives that cover areas that are as diverse as Law and the Community, Environmental Law, Transnational Business Law and Cyber Law. Students are also required to complete an independent research project (dissertation), which has to be presented as part of a seminar.

Postgraduate programmes

The Faculty of Law at the University of Pretoria is widely recognised as a leader in the field of postgraduate programmes. The LLM/MPhil and LLD/PhD programmes presented by the Faculty enable students to specialise in their chosen fields by engaging with experts on an advanced level.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences