Undergraduate LLB Programme

Please note that the LLB undergraduate programme at the University of Pretoria is only presented on a full-time, attendance basis.  It is not offered as a correspondence or an after-hours course.
Further note that the BA Law programme is administered by the Faculty of Humanities and the BCom Law programme by the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences.  Queries for these two degrees should be directed to the respective faculties, and NOT to the Faculty of Law.
Please ensure that you liaise with the correct faculty, so as to avoid unnecessary confusion and delays!

2020/2021 Faculty of Law undergraduate brochure


Admission Requirements - Page 4 in particular

Assessment Policy (Assesseringsbeleid)

Bursaries and prizes awarded in the Faculty of Law

Bursaries available in South Africa

Certificate of Good Conduct

Career opportunities in the legal profession - Page 14 onwards

Composition of the LLB degree - Page 6 in particular

Faculty of Law Rules and Regulations

First Year BA Law electives in the Faculty of Humanities

Fees and Funding

Frequently Asked Questions

General rules and regulations

How to Choose Between BA (Law), BCom (Law) and LLB - Page 16 in particular

International LLB Students - Page 3 in particular. 

Legal Practice Council -  The Legal Practice Council is a national, statutory body established in terms of section 4 of the Legal Practice Act, No 28 of 2014. The Legal Practice Council and its Provincial Councils regulate the affairs of and exercise jurisdiction over all legal practitioners (attorneys and advocates) and candidate legal practitioners.  

Online registration




Published by Elzet Hurter

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences