Staff at Chemical Engineering

Prof Evans Chirwa


Tel: (012) 420-5894

Prof Michael Daramola

(Professor/Term Head (C1))

Tel: (012) 420-2475

Prof Phillip de Vaal

(Researcher (C2))

Tel: (012) 420-6748

Mrs Alette Devega

(Senior Technical Assistant)

Tel: (012) 420-3111

Mr Barend du Plessis

(Senior Lecturer)

Tel: (012) 420-3740

Mrs Elizabeth du Toit

(Senior Lecturer)

Tel: (012) 420-3641

Prof Walter Focke


Tel: (083) 326-6549

Prof Mike Heydenrych

(Associate Professor)

Tel: (012) 420-2199

Dr Samuel Iwarere

(Senior Researcher)

Tel: (012) 420-3092

Ms Gymaisy Kenny

(Departmental Administrator B)

Tel: (012) 420-3769

Prof Johan Labuschagne


Tel: (012) 420-3020

Prof Ncholu Manyala


Tel: (012) 420-3111

Dr Ryan Merckel

(Senior Lecturer)

Tel: (012) 420-3111

Ms Nomcebo Motsa


Tel: (012) 420-3111

Prof Ndeke Musee


Tel: (012) 420-3111

Prof Willem Nicol


Tel: (012) 420-3796

Mrs Elizabeth Otto

(Departmental Administrator C)

Tel: (012) 420-3824

Dr Shatish Ramjee

(Senior Lecturer)

Tel: (012) 420-2475

Mr Carl Sandrock

(Senior Lecturer)

Tel: (012) 420-2197

Ms Olga Shokane

(Departmental Administrator A)

Tel: (012) 420-4130

Mr Paul Sonnendecker

(Research Officer)

Tel: (012) 420-3161

Prof Shepherd Tichapondwa

(Associate Professor)

Tel: (012) 420-3741

Dr Isabella van der Westhuizen

(Control Instructor)

Tel: (012) 420-2625

Prof David van Vuuren

(Research Associate)

Tel: (012) 420-3568

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences