Advisory Board Members


Prof Vasu Reddy 

Dean: Faculty of Humanities

Vasu Reddy is a Professor of Sociology, and Dean of the Faculty of  Humanities at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. He is an NRF B rated    researcher. His research interests are genders, sexualities, poverty and     HIV/AIDS. Beyond previous books and journal articles, more recent   publications are Queer in Africa: LGBTQI Identities, Citizenship and   Activism (with Zethu Matebeni & Surya Monro, 2018; Routledge); Queer   Kinship: South African perspectives on the sexual politics of family-making   and belonging (with Tracy Morison and Ingrid Lynch, UNISA Press &   Routledge, in 2018);Poverty and Inequality: Diagnosis, Prognosis   Responses (edited by Soudien, Reddy, Woolard;HSRC Press, 2019); The   Fabric of Dissent: Public Intellectuals in South Africa (lead co-editor, HSRC Press, 2020) and Ethics, Politics, Inequality: New Directions (edited by Bohler-Muller, Soudien, Reddy; HSRC Press, 2021). .


Ms Constance Ntuli 

Person who uses AAC

Ms Constance Ntuli is an Admin Assistant of the Centre for   Augmentative and Alternative Communication at the University of   Pretoria, South Africa.I am a person who uses AAC and a disability   Advocate as well as a mentor to young adults who use AAC and is   an inspirational motivator to the community. I am a mother of two   beautiful girls. I lost my voice at a very young age now I use   alternative ways to get my word out. I am a strong empowered young   woman living with a physical challenge. But don’t underestimate my   ability of living life positive and to the fullest. I am humble; loving;   caring and respectful towards each individual I meet; of which is what I ask in return.


Prof Ann Skelton

 UP Centre for Child Law

Professor Ann Skelton has worked as a children’s rights lawyer in South Africa for over 25 years. She played a leading role in child law reform through her involvement with the committees of the South African Law Reform Commission that drafted the Child Justice Act and the Children’s Act. Ann was the Director of the Centre for Child Law for ten years, and initiated its strategic impact litigation work. She is currently a Law Professor at the University of Pretoria, where she also holds the UNESCO Chair: Education Law in Africa. She is an internationally recognised researcher and has published widely on children’s rights, education law and restorative justice. In addition to teaching Child Law and Education Law at the University of Pretoria, she teaches International Children’s Rights in the Masters in International Human Rights Law at the University of Oxford. She is a visiting professor of the University of Strathclyde and is the first holder of the Rotating Honorary Chair: Enforcement of Children’s Rights at Leiden University. She is an advocate and has appeared as counsel in many landmark child law cases in the South African superior courts, including 12 cases in the Constitutional Court. Her awards include the Honorary Worlds’ Children’s Prize, presented by Queen Sylvia of Sweden (2012) and the Juvenile Justice Without Borders award presented by the International Observatory on Juvenile Justice (2017) and she is currently an International Ambassador for the British Society of Criminology. She was the chairperson of the Advisory Board of the United Nations Global Study on Children Deprived of their Liberty.  Ann is currently a member of the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child, her term of office started in 2017.



Mr Maluta Tshivhase Deputy

 Director: Disabilities, National Department of Health

 Mr Maluta Tshivhase is a deputy director in the National Department  of Health responsible for Disability and Rehabilitation. Over the years  he has worked on several initiatives with a national footprint,such as  the development of the Framework and Strategy for Disability and Rehabilitation services in SA. He has also participated in WHO initiatives on community-based rehabilitation. He is the current   chairperson of the technical committee on assistive products for    persons with disability (TC173) of the SABS, and chairperson of the sub-committee responsible for wheelchair standards (TC173_SC1) at ISO.



Ms Sebenzile Masebula

Executive Director: Motswako Office Solutions

Ms Sebenzile Matsebula is a business- woman, entrepreneur and development consultant who has, for the past 33 years, been actively involved in advancing mainstreaming disability in South Africa, on the African Continent and internationally.  Sebenzile currently chairs the Disability Empowerment Concerns Trust; South African Development Trust for Disabled People and Taquanta Investment Holdings Company. 


Ms Lidia Pretorius

Disability empowerment consultant and life coach

Ms Lidia Pretorius is a serial social justice and disability rights activist, has worked in the field of rural development, disability inclusion and public policy-making for the past 30 years. Her life experience transcended working as a frontline rehabilitation therapist, a rural development practitioner, a full-time politician as Deputy Executive Mayor, a public policy maker, and lately, disability empowerment consulting and life coaching. 




- Author Centre for AAC

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences