Laboratory Diagnostic Services

Diagnostic services are rendered in the following laboratories:

  • Virology
  • Bacteriology
  • Serology
  • Helminthology
  • Protozoölogy
  • Ectoparasitology.

All testing is performed in laboratories with an implemented Quality System according to the ISO17025 Standard. Selected tests in the Bacteriology, Serology, Helminthology and Virology Laboratories are accredited by the South African National Accreditation System (SANAS). The SANAS accreditation number for the DVTD laboratories is V0027.

SANAS accredited tests in the different laboratories can be seen on the SANAS website.

The SANAS accredited tests performed for controlled and notifiable diseases are approved by the Department of Agriculture, Forestries and Fisheries (DAFF).

Click on the links below to open the relevant pages/forms:

Bacteriology lab Bacteriology lab

Bacteriology laboratory

DVTD Bacteriology laboratory
Published by Linda Poggenpoel

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences