Public Law


The Department of Public Law focuses on those areas of the law that traditionally fall within the Public Law domain.  This includes the areas of Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, Human Rights Law, Legal Interpretation, Criminal Law, and International Law. Flowing from these are several specialised areas, including Environmental Law, Extractive Industries Law, Medical Law, Municipal Law, International Air Space and Telecommunications Law, International Criminal Law, International Humanitarian Law, and Statutory Crimes.

Members of the Department actively contribute to these areas through teaching on the undergraduate LLB programme, as well as a variety of postgraduate coursework and research programmes — including LLM, MPhil and LLD. Members of the Department are also involved in other coursework LLM programmes, including the LLM in Human Rights and Democratisation in Africa, and the LLM in International Trade and Investment Law (both offered by the Centre for Human Rights).

The Department hosts two specialised academic entities, including the Centre for Law and Medicine (CLM), and the Extractive Industry Law in Africa Unit (EILA).  The Department also hosts the National Research Foundation's (NRF) South African Research Initiative (SARChI) Chair for International Constitutional Law, which is currently held by Prof Dire Tladi.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences