Undergraduate modules

For the LLB degree, the Department of Public Law offers courses in those areas of the law that, traditionally speaking, fall within the Public Law domain. These include fields such as Criminal Law, Human Rights, Legal Interpretation, Constitutional Law, Administrative Law and International Law.

Flowing from these, a number of specialised elective courses are also offered for the LLB degree, including Media Law, Statutory Crimes, Land and Land Reform, Environmental Law, Medical Law, International Humanitarian Law and Municipal Law.


Bachelor of Laws [LLB] modules offered by the Department of Public Law

Compulsory modules

  • PBL 210: Public law 210 (Constitutional Law)

  • PBL 220: Public law 220 (Human Rights Law)

  • PBL 310: Public law 310 (Administrative Law)

  • PBL 320: Public law 320 (International Law)

  • PBL 410: Public law 410 (Criminal Law)

  • PBL 420: Public law 420 (Criminal Law)

  • RVW 210: Legal interpretation 210

Elective modules

For further information regarding module requirements and content, please access the Yearbook webpage of the Faculty of Law for more information.

- Author Department of Public Law

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences